Chicken Fried Steak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Very good! The whole family loved it. I put a peppered country style gravy on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
WOW! I used 2 tbsp tobasco instead of 2 and a half because I am a wimp when it comes to spice. BUT- I could have handled all of it. My husband loved them! I served them with gravy or ketchup and either way was pretty good. I also made the gravy with half of the remaining flour/paprika, etc. mix mixed in with the plain flower to add some flavor. Then, I put a few dashes tobasco in the gravy. Wonderful recipe! Make sure to leave the strips/steak sitting out about 20 minutes after breading and before frying so that the breading sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was really good and tasty. i thought this was going to be super spicy with all the hotpepper sauce, but it wasn't at all. i loved the taste of the breading, but it didn't stick very well. next time i will try the ideas of the reviewers. The meat was a little too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I've never eaten or made chicken fried steak before, so didn't know what to expect. It was okay....I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe, we just don't care for chicken fried steak. I used regular Tabasco sauce and wasn't a fan...I think if we make this again I would use a different type of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I just finished eating this and couldn't wait to review. It was delicious!! I actually tried both steak and chicken. I love the spicy notes mingling with the smoky Paprika. I have to say I kinda' liked it on chicken better though... Great Recipe, quick and simple and uber tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was very good, kids loved it. Made mashed potatoes and gravy to go with. I didn't mash it thin enough, so had to bake a little before eating, so not as crispy as I would have liked, but very tender and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This turned out very good. I missed adding "salt to taste", so make sure you add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I was sure the breading would fall off like always but followed another reviewers suggestion and it didn't fall off! I dipped the meat as recipe states then let it sit on waxed paper for 20 minutes then redipped and fried as usual. I don't usually make dinners like this because I don't like frying but do it now and again. I didn't use any where near the amount of oil called for in the recipe though. Tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
You really don't need all the oil to fry these unless you really want a deep fried steak. The spices called for gave the steaks a great flavor. Instead of using just the milk mixture, I made an egg base and then added some of the milk and hot sauce. Once done, I dumped most of the oil, added flour to make a roux and made a nice country gravy to go with the cube steaks I used. The boys loved their Father's Day treat. Thanks Krissy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Just what I was looking for, a chicken fried steak with some spice to it! I dipped each steak in all the mixes and then set them out on wax paper for about 20 minutes, dipped in last mix again and then fried. Had no problems with the breading. Definitely have to serve with mashed potatoes, biscuits and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States