Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Yuk.....this was awful. The crust fell off....it was just a mess. I will NEVER cook again. Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Chicken fried steak was delicious, but the gravy failed...it could've been me though because I'm not the best with gravy. After the first attempt flopped I made a new batch to serve with the steaks and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Quick and simple to make. I do find the gravy a bit too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
My daughter & I thought this was really bland, but my husband and son really liked it. They are also the only ones who like gravy and put it on their steak. Maybe that had something to do with it...anyway, was really easy and will probably make again, just not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I made this dish last night (June 19) and OMG, everyone loved it. It was to die for. The first time I ever tried it was in Colorado and it was good but this was even better. Thanks Lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This is really good. I did the "double dipping" with the cutlets for about 1/2 the time, and the breading fell off. Then I decided to just dip the rest of the meat in the egg/buttermilk mixture first and then the flour and call it good... It worked much better. This was the first time that I used shortening to fry the steak and I was pleased with the results. (I have always made Chicken Fried Steak in oil) After reading some of the reviews, I was leery of heating the full 2 cups of shortening, so I started out with only 1... but I ended up adding the second cup when the steak absorbed the majority of it. I added garlic salt, seasoning salt, & fines herbes to the flour. I served it with mashed potatoes, green beans and crescent rolls. I was thrilled with the results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Quick, easy, and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This recipe was very easy and taste's great! I aboslutly loved it! It will go on my list of fav's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out really well. I had no problems with the breading falling off. I did change one thing though, I only left about 1 or 2 Tb of oil in the pan for the gravy. I thought 1/2 c seemd like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was a great, easy to follow, quick recipe. I used oil instead of shortening and it worked quite well. Very tasty--make sure not to overcook the steaks as the coating will fall right off if you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States