Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Very good and simple to make. I used steak that was already sliced very thin (for sandwiches) but think they may have been too thin. I found I had a little bit of trouble getting the breading to stay on the steak in certain places. Overall, everyone enjoyed these but next time, I will pound the meat down myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
The three stars are because 2 cups of oil is WAY too much for 4 steaks. Otherwise the recipe is ok. I use tenderized sirloin, salt and pepper the steak cutlets, dip in beaten egg, then in flour with more salt and pepper..have about 1/4 cup of VEGETABLE oil ready in large skillet and carefully place the steak in the hot oil watch carefully and turn down the heat (Med/low) so the oil doesn't get too hot and burn the flour coating. When LIGHT brown on one side, turn over. If you need to add a little more oil do it by the Tablespoonsful as necessary. The secret to keeping the coating from falling off is to have oil hot when you put the steaks in it. Also Olive Oil will burn faster than veg. oil so I would not recommend it for this type of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This is a great recipe! The only thing I did differenty was that I used my deep fryer! It worked wonderfully! I just kept the basket down and gently put the steaks down into the oil! I did one steak at a time and it took about five to seven minutes for each steak. The steaks came out very tender with a beautiful crispy crust. My family loved it! I used about a 1/4 cup of the oil to make the gravy, this is how I was taught to make gravy! I made seven steaks and there three leftover when I went to bed,there were none when I got up!! Seems as though sandwiches were almost better than dinner! Teenagers and Summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This recipe was delicious. Messy in its making, but flavorful results. A repeat in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
These are really great. Easy to prepare and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
The taste of this recipe was okay, but it's not the chicken fried steak I grew up with. The breading I'm used to never fell off the meat, it was almost part of it. My husband did enjoy it, but I think I will keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Tasted great! Not the best as a leftover so I recommend not making much extra. This recipe was too much for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I think this was good. Mine was over cooked big time-not sure if my grease was too hot or if the time was off. I used round steak which I pounded out and it was a little chewy for the kids. Next time I think I'll try cube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
husband loved this, my daughter could not stop saying yummy. great& easy to make. very kid friendly. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YECKIE MOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Very tasty and tender. My kids (steak haters) loved it. I added some extra salt, pepper, and garlic powder the the gravy, and a little less pan drippings and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States