Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
If you follow my tips regarding this recipe, you cant fail. Ive made it 3 times, and the best meat I found was cubed steak. Flour tip: Add any spices you like.. I added garlic powder and blackened spice. Important, in the first dredge of flour press the meat into the flour hard on both sides to get it to stick and shake off excess, then go to buttermilk and back to flour and be sure to recoat heavily in 2nd flour pass to cover all the wetness from the buttermilk. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes on wax paper Frying tip: I used an electric skillet, make sure the oil ( I used wesson) is deep enough to basically submerge the meat. Approx 1.5 inches deept If you dont have enough oil, your batter will fall off. I also used an cast iron skillet which works fine too but I like the electric skillet because of the temperature gauge and the ability to cook more pieces. Its really good if you spice up the flour mixture as much or as little as you like and use cubed steak because its more tender. Happy frying ***RECENT EDIT*** I have found that if use extra seasonings and you put your extra seasonings in the liquid (buttermilk) and add just salt and pepper to the dry(flour) u get a much better coloring on the batter. It keeps things like garlic powder or spicy seasonings from burning when they are in the liquid, protected by the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
The three stars are because 2 cups of oil is WAY too much for 4 steaks. Otherwise the recipe is ok. I use tenderized sirloin, salt and pepper the steak cutlets, dip in beaten egg, then in flour with more salt and pepper..have about 1/4 cup of VEGETABLE oil ready in large skillet and carefully place the steak in the hot oil watch carefully and turn down the heat (Med/low) so the oil doesn't get too hot and burn the flour coating. When LIGHT brown on one side, turn over. If you need to add a little more oil do it by the Tablespoonsful as necessary. The secret to keeping the coating from falling off is to have oil hot when you put the steaks in it. Also Olive Oil will burn faster than veg. oil so I would not recommend it for this type of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is quite similar to the recipe I grew up with. Chicken-fried steak was one of my mother's specialties, and this approximates her "recipe." The gravy is absolutely awesome and is just like you might find at a good family restaurant! I did add a couple of teaspoons of chicken bouillon, which made the gravy taste a little fuller. The buttermilk didn't seem to appreciably effect the flavor, though it does make a thicker liquid mixture, which probably helped the flour stick to the meat better. Mom taught me to use cast iron skillets for chicken-fried steak--the cast iron skillets and temperature of the grease--are the keys to getting the breading to adhere to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This was ok but not great. To enhance the flavor I used Italian bread crumbs. Was too lazy to make the gravy. Meat was very tender. If you have good quality non-stick pans the breading will not fall off the steak. Also pan-fried steaks in about 1 T olive oil. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Of all the recipes we have tried from this site, this has been the hands down family favorite!! It takes a few min. to prepare but is definatly worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
My husband LOVED this recipe! I had never made chicken fried steak before, but this was pretty easy. I will definitely be making this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
the meat was excellant, the gravy had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Tasted great! Not the best as a leftover so I recommend not making much extra. This recipe was too much for my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This makes really good chicken fried steak...the gravy just needed a little extra garlic salt and pepper. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Very tasty and tender. My kids (steak haters) loved it. I added some extra salt, pepper, and garlic powder the the gravy, and a little less pan drippings and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States