Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I did not care for this recipe at all. I'll give it 2 stars, however, because I liked the meat. The steak was very flavorful, and I'd possibly make it again, but I did not like the gravy adn will NEVER make it again. I wasn't expecting a brown gravy (is it supposed to be brown???) - I was hoping for a creamy, peppery, white gravy. Even if the gravy was what I expected it to be, it didn't turn out anyways. I have had trouble in the past with thickening sauces, etc., so part of the problem had to do with the chef :) I ended up opening a package of white gravy mix because chicken fried steak just isn't the same without it! This goes well with mashed potatoes and green beans. I think I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.... Hopefully this will be a winner for someone else. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is quite similar to the recipe I grew up with. Chicken-fried steak was one of my mother's specialties, and this approximates her "recipe." The gravy is absolutely awesome and is just like you might find at a good family restaurant! I did add a couple of teaspoons of chicken bouillon, which made the gravy taste a little fuller. The buttermilk didn't seem to appreciably effect the flavor, though it does make a thicker liquid mixture, which probably helped the flour stick to the meat better. Mom taught me to use cast iron skillets for chicken-fried steak--the cast iron skillets and temperature of the grease--are the keys to getting the breading to adhere to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This recipe sounded interesting but was far too much grease for the little flavor provided by the batter - maybe try it again with more spices??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Breading was extremely difficult to work with. Breading started cooking but fell off meat when removed from pan. I have had much more success with other breading recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I had never used buttermilk with my chicken fried steak, I liked this change. I made sure the grease was hot enough and I had no problem with breading sticking. I added a couple teaspoons of chicken boullion to the gravy to give it more flavor I think that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Love this recipe. Used tenderized round steak, after breading it, let it rest for a few minutes before frying. I deep fried this in a wok,frying 2 steaks (about4"x5"). Was surprised that the meat absorbed less fat than I expected. Family loved it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is such a tastey dinner. We usually make it with garlic smashed potatoes and green beans. This is the perfect comfort food meal to eat on a fall night. In fact, I think we'll have it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
The recipe was ok. I found that the breading started to fall off. I increased the heat of the oil and it worked out good, it didn't fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
The worst stuff I've ever tried. The breading fell off and the steak was like eating a spoonful of grease. Absolutly disgusting. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Property of Sicilian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Yuk.....this was awful. The crust fell off....it was just a mess. I will NEVER cook again. Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States