Chicken Fried Steak I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
A good base for a chicken fried steak, but I made sure to add my own seasonings. Meat came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good and easy, my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
my husband and i loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
After turning one of the steaks black, filling the house with smoke and sending the detector into overdrive, the other three turned out great!! This recipe withstood my "cooking skills" wonderfully! We cleaned our plates. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Great recipe! Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sherrard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I didn't like this so much with a solid piece of beef the first time I made it, but the second time I used a cube steak and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
If you follow my tips regarding this recipe, you cant fail. Ive made it 3 times, and the best meat I found was cubed steak. Flour tip: Add any spices you like.. I added garlic powder and blackened spice. Important, in the first dredge of flour press the meat into the flour hard on both sides to get it to stick and shake off excess, then go to buttermilk and back to flour and be sure to recoat heavily in 2nd flour pass to cover all the wetness from the buttermilk. Let it rest for 5-10 minutes on wax paper Frying tip: I used an electric skillet, make sure the oil ( I used wesson) is deep enough to basically submerge the meat. Approx 1.5 inches deept If you dont have enough oil, your batter will fall off. I also used an cast iron skillet which works fine too but I like the electric skillet because of the temperature gauge and the ability to cook more pieces. Its really good if you spice up the flour mixture as much or as little as you like and use cubed steak because its more tender. Happy frying ***RECENT EDIT*** I have found that if use extra seasonings and you put your extra seasonings in the liquid (buttermilk) and add just salt and pepper to the dry(flour) u get a much better coloring on the batter. It keeps things like garlic powder or spicy seasonings from burning when they are in the liquid, protected by the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This dish was alright, I love chicken fried steak so my expectations my have been too high. The Steak was a little bland but did have a hint of a good taste. The gravy was aweful, I will not be trying this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Excellent dish. First time making it and my boyfriend who always orders this dish when we go out said it was fantastic.. Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was so good! My breading fell off a little bit, but it was still awesome. My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States