Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I wouldn't call this chicken fricassee in any way but it is very delicious, I made it according to the recipe and out of the 5 of us we were all complaining about how hot it was ... making it again tonight with half the cayenne pepper and I just tasted it and it's still quite hot! I also used only 1 tablespoon of the Cajun spice as everyone that I've tried it salty and a little spicy too. I didn't use the oil to make the roux but I used a little over a stick of butter for flavor and it doesn't leave as much grease floating on top. Also I thicken it with the roux after the chicken is cooked and after it has simmered for an hour so the dish doesn't take as long to make and all the broth doesn't boil away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I had just completed this recipe tonight, and it was flavorful though I felt the addition of the roux was far too early in the cooking process. I had to babysit the pot and stir far too frequently, and the chicken stuck and shredded and the sauce/roux burnt on the bottom despite my careful monitoring and attention, so I had to add more liquid. Therefore the appearance of the chicken and sauce looked nothing like the photo. Perhaps it may be better to 1) brown chicken (with or without skin, dependent on preference), with addition of sausage the last half of browning then 2) add veggies and 3) add seasonings (with far less salt), with 1/2 the suggested cayenne and with perhaps 1 to 2 cups chicken broth (thus reducing recommended salt--I didn't add any due to the saltiness of the sausage). Cook, with the roux addition perhaps within the last 30-40 minutes to finish (and nowhere near the suggested amount of a cup!). Finish with the final adjustment of cayenne pepper to taste, up the the recommended full amount, for some like it spicy! I would use this recipe as a guideline in the future for I believe it has great potential to be a keeper, though I found the recommended process much too involved for the end result, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This recipe is good, but it needs a few more ingredients. I added diced fresh carrots, some rubbed sage, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and diced bell peppers. You can use less or no salt if you add these ingredients. I completely omitted the cayenne pepper because there is enough of that in my Cajun Seasoning. Also, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts diced to make it healthier and I used low sodium chicken broth. You don't have to put the sausage in it, but it makes it that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wanted to try something different. Well this is it. Read all the reviews and came to the conclusion people just do not follow instructions. Made as directed with the exception of qIuantity adjustments. I did not see anywhere where it said to add 1/2 cup of oil (reviews) My only issue is the rue which other comments may be referring to it was way to much oil. I have been making rue for a long time and have never did this ratio had to add an additional 3/4cup this recipe could stand 1/2 cup oil 1 1/4 cup flour. Also making rue parts a flavor as well as being a thickening agent and also takes lots of time to do properly. If all you want is a thickening then just use flour and water. A good rue is part of good cajon and creole cooking but this one falls short. Not going to get into specifics on rue's and use search rue on site or google. Also just used 2Tbs Tony Chacheres seasoning and omitted rest. Had plenty heat you can always add more. "Taste as you go ". Overall although not a traditional Fricassee this recipe is very good and will make again although it it not really geared to a beginner. If you are looking for something different I would recommend this in a minute. Just keep in mind your cooking knowledge. It can be spicy. I give 5 stars as an experienced cook. Have fun and happy cooking. GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was a tasty dish. I halved the recipe, used chicken breast tenders (so it would cook faster) and low fat spicy turkey sausage. I also used chicken broth instead of water. The spice level was hot, but not too hot for us! I will say that the recipe was lacking something. If I cook next time, I may add peppers at the end for some crunch. All and all a good recipe for a first time Cajun cook. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was really good. I changed it up a little bit. I only had 10 thighs and I cut the cayenne in half. It was plenty spicy for me. My guys added tobasco but I'm a wimp and the andouille sausage is pretty spicy itself. I served this over rice and with homemade corn bread. Mine wouldn't thicken up so I ended up adding a cornstarch slurry before I finished cooking. I just wanted it thicker than it was getting. Thanks for the recipe! My guys really loved this. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a meal that my husband introduced to the family. This recipe was yummy & filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I used this recipe as a base idea for tonight's supper. I used boneless thighs and only 1 package of sausage, 1 quart organic chicken stock, and cooked it in the slow cooker on high for 2 hours (my meat was frozen when I put it in) and then on low for another 6. The meat was juicy and tender - and the drippings were perfect for cooking the rice in. This dish packs plenty of heat - it's a good thing the slow cooker takes some of the heat from the cayenne away. Everyone at supper tonight *loved* it. I served it over organic brown basmati rice and sauteed onions, yellow summer squash, and fresh okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
My husband really enjoyed this dish and said I should make it again. I omitted the green onion because I didn't have any on hand and used chicken breast cut into smaller strips because it's what I had as well. Be sure to cook the roux until it is nutty in fragrance and significantly changes color. 30-40 minutes. I used the full amount of Cayenne and it was just right. It needed a bit more salt at the end but otherwise the flavor was delicious. Also, after cooking the roux, meat and veggies I threw it all in the crock pot along with the seasonings to cook for 2-3 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this for book club for the book "Lincoln" because it was his favorite dish. I followed the recipe and added some diced carrots and green pepper. I felt it was a bit too spicy and way too greasy. I could only eat a very small portion because it was just too heavy. But others liked it ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States