Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I have eaten a very similar recipe my whole life. A couple of the ingredients are different, such as the sausage, we always added bell pepper (equal amount to the onion). I was very surprised to read about the person that decided not to use the roux. That is sacrilege in Cajun cooking. Besides the oil they were referring to was most likely from the sausage. This is a great recipe that everyone should try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I made a few modifications. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and smoked sausage. As recommended by other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of water, and I used water for my roux instead of oil. I also love my food spicy, so I added an extra half teaspoon of cayenne. I added some green pepper during the last 7 minutes for a little crunch, and I served over rice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The whole family LOVED this recipe – gee, I felt like a rock star! First I cooked the chicken and sausage in a Dutch oven. Lifted those out, and sautéed the onions and celery right in with the roux. I did use caution with the cayenne pepper. Some substitutions that I made were using butter instead of oil; boneless, skinless chicken breasts; Smoked Turkey sausage; and I added chicken bouillon to hot water and left out the salt. This is the second time I’ve made this – The first time I followed the recipe exactly. This is a great recipe that can take your substitutions and still turn out wonderful. Definitely serve this over rice, and wait for the applause! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is more of a chicken and sausage gumbo recipe more so than chicken ficassee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Really good and not so difficult that a rookie (me) can't produce a winner meal. My wife and I loved it. Typical of cajun food the leftovers the next day were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I found this EXCELLENT! I did have to sub smoked sausage for the andouille. I can not find it here. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was good. I listened to other reviewers and halved the cayenne. I think it was still spicy enough to please those that like some heat in their meal. I used a little more than half of the roux and after an hour and a half of simmering, there was very little liquid left. Next time I'll use less roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this dish. We have had it twice in the past few weeks, and it is still wonderful. I did change a few things: 1) I didn't use any oil and just mixed the flour with some water as I thought the chicken thighs and sausage had enough fat already 2)I didn't have cajun seasoning, so I used creole seasoning 3) I added more cayenne because it really wasn't very spicey for our tastes 4) After frying the meat, I threw everything into a crock pot on low for 3 to 4 hrs or high for 1 to 2 hrs 5) I always substitute celery salt for celery. With my minor changes, it was excellent and has gone into our regular rotation of meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great, Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this and people said it was great. They said the chicken was really tender and very good. I also added some frozen mixed vegetables. The only problem I had with it is that there was so much oil and fat. I tried to skim it off, but there was a lot still there. I think that if I make this again, I will make the roux with water and also drain the fat off the chicken and the sausage. I think chopped tomatoes would also be good in this. Otherwise this was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States