Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe very delicious..as suggested I cut the cayenne pepper in half, add a bouillon cube to the water before adding it && made this a one pot dish. I made the roux in a dutch oven (used butter not oil) after I poured it into a separate dish aside Then i sauteed the chicken & sausage in the dutch oven...added the veggies called for took that out & poured all else ingredients in the dutch oven then putting back the meat & roux By doing this you only use one pot use the fat from the chicken & sausage && NO ADDITIONAL OIL!!!!!!!!!!!! and added some chopped up bell pepper at the end for color and some crunch as suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Delicious! I skipped the cayenne and added chopped green pepper and a bay leaf, and cut the reduction time on the liquid in half because it was already delicious! My sister called this dish "outstanding." I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carencro, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I have eaten a very similar recipe my whole life. A couple of the ingredients are different, such as the sausage, we always added bell pepper (equal amount to the onion). I was very surprised to read about the person that decided not to use the roux. That is sacrilege in Cajun cooking. Besides the oil they were referring to was most likely from the sausage. This is a great recipe that everyone should try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I made a few modifications. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and smoked sausage. As recommended by other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of water, and I used water for my roux instead of oil. I also love my food spicy, so I added an extra half teaspoon of cayenne. I added some green pepper during the last 7 minutes for a little crunch, and I served over rice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The whole family LOVED this recipe – gee, I felt like a rock star! First I cooked the chicken and sausage in a Dutch oven. Lifted those out, and sautéed the onions and celery right in with the roux. I did use caution with the cayenne pepper. Some substitutions that I made were using butter instead of oil; boneless, skinless chicken breasts; Smoked Turkey sausage; and I added chicken bouillon to hot water and left out the salt. This is the second time I’ve made this – The first time I followed the recipe exactly. This is a great recipe that can take your substitutions and still turn out wonderful. Definitely serve this over rice, and wait for the applause! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is more of a chicken and sausage gumbo recipe more so than chicken ficassee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Really good and not so difficult that a rookie (me) can't produce a winner meal. My wife and I loved it. Typical of cajun food the leftovers the next day were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I found this EXCELLENT! I did have to sub smoked sausage for the andouille. I can not find it here. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was good. I listened to other reviewers and halved the cayenne. I think it was still spicy enough to please those that like some heat in their meal. I used a little more than half of the roux and after an hour and a half of simmering, there was very little liquid left. Next time I'll use less roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
We LOVED this dish. We have had it twice in the past few weeks, and it is still wonderful. I did change a few things: 1) I didn't use any oil and just mixed the flour with some water as I thought the chicken thighs and sausage had enough fat already 2)I didn't have cajun seasoning, so I used creole seasoning 3) I added more cayenne because it really wasn't very spicey for our tastes 4) After frying the meat, I threw everything into a crock pot on low for 3 to 4 hrs or high for 1 to 2 hrs 5) I always substitute celery salt for celery. With my minor changes, it was excellent and has gone into our regular rotation of meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States