Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband and I love Chicken French- and I am from Rochester, NY!! I have been looking for a recipe just like this- I never realized Chicken French was a Rochester thing, but I guess it is! I can't wait to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe is absolutely heavenly. I lived in Rochester, NY until 2003, and have not had chicken/artichokes french since, but have been craving it for years. Gave it a whirl tonight, and it is to die for. Even my picky husband ate it. I love it over rice or pasta. Definitely double the sauce. I also flour and egg drained, canned artichoke hearts to serve with the chicken. If you love lemon and butter, you must try this. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I thought this was a very good version on chicken french. Living in Rochester there are slight variations to the recipe and taste but for the most part this hit the nail on the head. I would suggest using a white wine sauce if you want a lighter sauce. Also possibly doubling up on the sauce since there isn't alot. Next time I make this, I will be sure to make a double amount of sauce. Several people also take fresh lemons, slice them and saute them in the sauce as well for a more Lemony flavor. Overall, Great recipe. I also suggest pounding out the chicken. the thinner it is, the better for this recipe. At least in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
very good recipe - easy to do. I used chardonnay instead of sherry and a pinch of sugar and it worked out well. I might try adding a bit of fresh thyme the next time around to emphasize the lemon and a bit of an herbal undertone to the dish. I also thought the use of the egg batter with the cheese mixed in was a wonderful touch - the coating was nice and light and the toasted cheese added a little something extra. Plus pounding out the chicken breast makes it more tender and easier to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I am from Rochester as well and have been looking for a chicken french recipe for a long time that is restaurant quality. I don't have to look any further. The only change I made was to use half sherry and half white wine in the sauce (I did not have enough sherry), and I used a touch of chicken stock in place of the chicken base as I did not have that on hand. Did not have any trouble with the coating staying on it came out perfect. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I had turkey tenderloin in the fridge that I needed to cook tonight... I remembered how my mom used to use turkey to make chicken french, but I couldn't find her recipe. This was the very first recipe that I cound online when I searched Chicken French, and I'M FROM ROCHESTER, NY, TOO!! :) So Yummy!! Just how I remembered mom making it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I'm the author of this recipe and just made this again tonight, to celebrate. Yes, the sauce can be doubled, especially if you'd like the sauce on the rice. As far as egg/cheese/sugar mixture goes. I've never had a problem with it sticking to the flour-dredged chicken. Not sure why it didn't work for Lavendertatoo. I figure if it worked for Julia Child, it should work for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
My whole family Loved this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very flavorful. Use one teaspoon of vanilla extract because I did not have Sherry. I would highly recommend! I put the chicken in flou then egg mixture then flour again. That is how I make chicken fingers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Loved it! I doubled the sauce and added extra chicken stock so I'd have enough to put over egg noodles. I finished it in the oven covered in sauce rather than the pan for timing reasons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States