Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I had turkey tenderloin in the fridge that I needed to cook tonight... I remembered how my mom used to use turkey to make chicken french, but I couldn't find her recipe. This was the very first recipe that I cound online when I searched Chicken French, and I'M FROM ROCHESTER, NY, TOO!! :) So Yummy!! Just how I remembered mom making it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
very good recipe - easy to do. I used chardonnay instead of sherry and a pinch of sugar and it worked out well. I might try adding a bit of fresh thyme the next time around to emphasize the lemon and a bit of an herbal undertone to the dish. I also thought the use of the egg batter with the cheese mixed in was a wonderful touch - the coating was nice and light and the toasted cheese added a little something extra. Plus pounding out the chicken breast makes it more tender and easier to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RockinRob
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I was a little skeptical using the egg as part of the breading, but this came out wonderful- a different twist on a chicken dish. I followed the recipe but added mushrooms b/c I had them on hand & thought it would add to the dish, which it did. The sauce was great, I did add extra lemon for an extra kick of juice. Will make many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockinRob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuyvesant, New York, USA
Living In: West Sand Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I thought this was a very good version on chicken french. Living in Rochester there are slight variations to the recipe and taste but for the most part this hit the nail on the head. I would suggest using a white wine sauce if you want a lighter sauce. Also possibly doubling up on the sauce since there isn't alot. Next time I make this, I will be sure to make a double amount of sauce. Several people also take fresh lemons, slice them and saute them in the sauce as well for a more Lemony flavor. Overall, Great recipe. I also suggest pounding out the chicken. the thinner it is, the better for this recipe. At least in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Loved it! I doubled the sauce and added extra chicken stock so I'd have enough to put over egg noodles. I finished it in the oven covered in sauce rather than the pan for timing reasons. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was very good but it was a bit too lemony for my taste. Although my husband liked it very well. Next time I will try with less lemon juice. But otherwise very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
My whole family Loved this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe. Very flavorful. Use one teaspoon of vanilla extract because I did not have Sherry. I would highly recommend! I put the chicken in flou then egg mixture then flour again. That is how I make chicken fingers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good! I live in Rochester and have ordered chicken french all over the city for years. I doubled the sauce, and used a bit more sherry and butter, that's just my taste. I also used chicken stock because I didn't have base. I deglazed the pan with the sherry before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. I also like the chicken on the thin side, so I pounded it thin. Maybe the reviewer who had the problem with the coating didn't dust off all the extra flour? Great recipe, do you have one for greens and beans Roc style?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I'm the author of this recipe and just made this again tonight, to celebrate. Yes, the sauce can be doubled, especially if you'd like the sauce on the rice. As far as egg/cheese/sugar mixture goes. I've never had a problem with it sticking to the flour-dredged chicken. Not sure why it didn't work for Lavendertatoo. I figure if it worked for Julia Child, it should work for anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States