Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Amazing!! My new favorite!! I changed it up just a bit because its what I had on hand. I used apple juice for the sherry and used more chicken base and butter but WOW it's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiehawkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Just had it for dinner, AMAZING! I have been using allrecipes.com for a while now but this recipe made me join so I could review this recipe! Chicken french is definitely a good quality of Rochester. I doubled the recipe to make 8 servings but cut my chicken breasts in half as well as flattened them with the meat mallet. For the sauce, I added the juice of 2 lemons. Fresh lemon juice always tastes better than the juice from the bottle. An Excellent Chicken French Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I am from Rochester and LOVE the Chicken French from the Northside Inn. This reminds me of that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I too am from Rochester and this is better than some of the restaurants! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Loved this recipe! I did pound out the chicken and doubled the sauce which I poured over the linguine and added fresh parsley. I didn't have chicken base so I used vegetable stock. You do have to make sure your oil temp is hot enough before adding the chicken, or you will lose some of the egg mix and it will stick to the pan. Very tasty, my family enjoyed it with linguine,green beens, and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I, like other reviewers, did not realize that Chicken French was a Roch-cha-cha thing! This recipe made, the BEST Chicken French I've ever had (if I do say so myself!). The only change is that I did double the sauce like others suggested. I served it with parmesan egg noodles and french cut green beans. What a delicious, quick, easy--yet fancy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I am from Rochester as well and have been looking for a chicken french recipe for a long time that is restaurant quality. I don't have to look any further. The only change I made was to use half sherry and half white wine in the sauce (I did not have enough sherry), and I used a touch of chicken stock in place of the chicken base as I did not have that on hand. Did not have any trouble with the coating staying on it came out perfect. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe is absolutely heavenly. I lived in Rochester, NY until 2003, and have not had chicken/artichokes french since, but have been craving it for years. Gave it a whirl tonight, and it is to die for. Even my picky husband ate it. I love it over rice or pasta. Definitely double the sauce. I also flour and egg drained, canned artichoke hearts to serve with the chicken. If you love lemon and butter, you must try this. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I had turkey tenderloin in the fridge that I needed to cook tonight... I remembered how my mom used to use turkey to make chicken french, but I couldn't find her recipe. This was the very first recipe that I cound online when I searched Chicken French, and I'M FROM ROCHESTER, NY, TOO!! :) So Yummy!! Just how I remembered mom making it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
very good recipe - easy to do. I used chardonnay instead of sherry and a pinch of sugar and it worked out well. I might try adding a bit of fresh thyme the next time around to emphasize the lemon and a bit of an herbal undertone to the dish. I also thought the use of the egg batter with the cheese mixed in was a wonderful touch - the coating was nice and light and the toasted cheese added a little something extra. Plus pounding out the chicken breast makes it more tender and easier to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States