Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was very good and unique, thanks! Also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I'm from Rochester and get this every time I come home. You can't get Chicken French in NC! THANK YOU SO MUCH for this FANTASTIC "taste of home" recipe!!! You nailed it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
As a Midwesterner transplanted in Colorado for the last 13 years, I'd never even heard of Chicken French. I saw a recent review, scanned the recipe ingredients, and was immediately intrigued. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only deviating slightly by doing the dredge of flour/egg/flour and pan-frying the chicken just once. I also added both onion and garlic powders into the flour. After making the sauce, I simply spooned a bit over each piece before serving so I could preserve the slightly crunchy coating of the chicken. My only preference for next time is to slightly reduce the lemon juice (I used freshly squeezed). DH and 5 year-old DD ate this up. Served with roasted green beans (also an AR recipe) and wild rice, this was a deliciously filling Sunday dinner. Thanks for sharing this regional favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
PERFECTION. EASY. No problems at all or like other reviewers mentioned. I used white white instead of sherry...came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and technique. I grew up near Rochester, and this recipe hits the nail on the head! I used thin sliced pork chop and it was just as good. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used white cooking wine instead of sherry, since I had that on hand, and I tripled the sauce so there was plenty to put over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Love this! It is a Rochester favorite! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
One of my favorites. A never-fail guest pleaser. My healthy modifications: no sugar, use grapeseed oil instead of butter, garnish with capers and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Guevara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great flavor but a little too much lemon and I used a decent Chardonnay instead of sherry I agree with other readers..make more sauce...next time I will make the sauce using the same amount of lemon but will triple the garlic, wine, butter and chicken broth. No problem with sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I needed a quick dinner for Valentine's Day and this was it! I had another recipe that I'd used before but was never quite happy with it, so I came here to search for better one. And did I ever find it! I, too live in Rochester and didn't realize that Chicken French was a regional dish. I doubled the sauce and used the white wine I had in the pantry--DELICIOUS. Before tasting it, my 2 year old asked for "atchup" for his chicken...one bite and he forgot ALL about wanting ketchup. :-) I served it with basmati rice and steamed broccoli. I'm so glad to have found this recipe--we're having friends over for dinner in a few days and I'm going to make artichokes french for our appetizer. Thank you, rocgrandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States