Chicken French - Rochester, NY Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and technique. I grew up near Rochester, and this recipe hits the nail on the head! I used thin sliced pork chop and it was just as good. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe. I used white cooking wine instead of sherry, since I had that on hand, and I tripled the sauce so there was plenty to put over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Love this! It is a Rochester favorite! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
One of my favorites. A never-fail guest pleaser. My healthy modifications: no sugar, use grapeseed oil instead of butter, garnish with capers and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Guevara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Great flavor but a little too much lemon and I used a decent Chardonnay instead of sherry I agree with other readers..make more sauce...next time I will make the sauce using the same amount of lemon but will triple the garlic, wine, butter and chicken broth. No problem with sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I needed a quick dinner for Valentine's Day and this was it! I had another recipe that I'd used before but was never quite happy with it, so I came here to search for better one. And did I ever find it! I, too live in Rochester and didn't realize that Chicken French was a regional dish. I doubled the sauce and used the white wine I had in the pantry--DELICIOUS. Before tasting it, my 2 year old asked for "atchup" for his chicken...one bite and he forgot ALL about wanting ketchup. :-) I served it with basmati rice and steamed broccoli. I'm so glad to have found this recipe--we're having friends over for dinner in a few days and I'm going to make artichokes french for our appetizer. Thank you, rocgrandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
As a Rochester, NY native, I have to say this was perfect! It's my favorite dish to order at restaurants and I have not been able to replicate it...until now! It took about an hour to make and I doubled the sauce, as others suggested. I also added a bit more lemon juice to taste. I "frenched up" some frozen broccoli along with it and served it over thin spaghetti. Whole family at it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! This replicates the chicken french you order out in town. In fact it's better than what most restaurants present. I trim the boneless breasts and pound them until they are an even 1/2 inch thick.To quicken the process I sometimes substitute seasoned pan searing flour before dipping in the egg wash. I use drinking sherry from a regional vineyard and fresh lemon juice and always double the sauce recipe. So grateful rocgrandma shared this! This is my husband's favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My family said "make it again!" The only things I did differently were to use the juice of one fresh lemon in place of the lemon juice - I mixed half with the beaten egg and half in the sauce. I dipped first in the egg/lemon and then in the flour mixture. I added a bit of flour and water mixture to thicken the sauce before returning the chicken to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I'm from Rochester and always loved ordering this in resturants. This recipe is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States