Chicken Foster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I cut the brown sugar by 30%, the butter by 50%, and left out the flour, making it a bit healthier. Definitely wait to put the bananas into the pan. They do get mushy. I added walnuts (though macadamia nuts would have been good too) and a little bit of coconut shavings for texture and flavor. I also mixed half regular rum and half coconut rum as to offset the actual coconut shavings and not overpower the dish. I got the flambe to work, though it didn't last very long. It depends on the strength of the alcohol you're using. I continued heating it after the flambe to cook off the rest of the liquid and it worked out well. It was very good served over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Not very good. I liked the idea of it but I couldn't get it to light on fire so the alcohol didn't cook off. I could tell by just one bite that we'd get a buzz from it. May have been too difficult for my skill level in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
When I saw this recipe I was very excited. Bananas Foster is one of my favorite desserts and this spin-off sounded interesting and promising! I was, however, disappointed in this dish. I had a hard time getting it to ignite and burn out the alcohol. In the end it tasted too sweet for a main course and definitely still had some alcohol punch still present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
WAY TOO MUCH RUM!!! No crunch and too sweet. The flavors are right, just in the wrong proportions. Made the recipe to order once and I think that I got a buzz just readying the recipe. Flambeed it and it burned for no less than 5 minutes and it still was too rum-my. I will try to cut the sugar/butter/rum next time and base it more off of awesome Banana's Foster II recipe. The banana's will be cut chunkier and nuts should be added too to create some texture other than mush and chicken. 1/4 cup butter 2/3 cup dark brown sugar 3 1/2 tablespoons rum 1 1/2 teaspoons amaretto 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 3 bananas, peeled and sliced lengthwise and crosswise 1/4 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEYAWPER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have re-read this recipe twice to make sure I did everything as directed and I did. I did not care for it. I went to a party of about 15 women and only one person liked it. I had left some for my hubby and he didn't even eat it and he eats everything. Not only was the taste of alcohol too much but it was lacking spice. I am giving this recipe two stars rather than one bc I did double the recipe and maybe that could have effected it. I spent a long time (30 minutes) stirring and flaming to get all the alcohol out. The first few times I tasted it, it was way way too strong. This dish was a waste and an embarrassment. I have only found one other recipe with 4+ stars that wasn't a hit in the past few years i have been using this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yum Candy Chicken! Kids will definitely like this, it tastes like dessert! My husband and I both enjoyed it also as something different from the same old. My husband made it and had no trouble with the flambe. He heated the alcohol first in the microwave and then left the chicken on the burner, instead of removing it from the heat, and that seemed to keep it hot enough to stay aflame (but maybe that is not recommended because it is not as safe?). Also, the bananas went very mushy so next time we will not put them in right away. As a main course it is a little too sweet for us but perhaps would make a good sidedish at a luau. Thanks for the fun and interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I'm not sure what it's supposed to tate like but it was really good. I think it could use a type of nut (pecans, almondsand that is a totally me thing) I was a little afraid to try the flambe thing so I just used extracts. 2T almond, 2t rum and 1t coconut. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
good, but too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought it was pretty good, my husband said it wasn't his thing. I served it with coconut rice, which was was good with it. The bananas become kinda mushy, and the dish is sweet, so if you're not into that, avoid it. I was worried about the rum because, well, bad mornings after rum have left me disliking it...but the flambe really took care of the alcohol taste. TO FLAMBE THE ALCOHOL: get the pan and ingredients nice and hot, add the alcohol, let it bubble on the sides of the pan, ignite the alcohol fumes just above the liquid. Step back! The flames really shoot up! Take the pan off the burner and serve when the flames go out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Really a good dish. No problem with the flambe though as I went to how to flambe.com and it said to heat the alcohol in a dish in the microwave for 15-20 seconds then pour over chicken in skillet and it lit right away and burned off the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States