Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was good but I thought it could be much better (and faster) if you skipped the first step. Baking the chicken on a baking sheet makes it dry and bland. I made it again last night and it was so much better (5 star). I sautéed the spinach and mushrooms in a little butter and placed in bottom of dish then placed the uncooked chicken on top, added the sauce and topped it off with real crumbled bacon and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Removed from oven and topped with 1 cup mozzarella and continued baking for 10 minutes at 350 (not 400). It was so moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
THIS IS DELICIOUS!!! I did modify. As others suggested I sauted (I used a bag and a half) of baby spinach leaves with (I used sliced portabella) mushrooms. I added a splash of white cooking wine and a teaspoon of garlic to the baby spinach/mushroom mix. I sauted as long as I could without burning to get rid of as much moisture as possible then put mixture over bottom of baking dish. Meanwhile, I boiled my chicken then cut into cubes. I then mixed and simmered my white sauce in the pan I sauted the spinach/mushroom ingredients, to take up the flavor. I stirred the cubed chicken in with the white sauce. I then poured the entire chicken/white sauce mixture over the layer of spinach and mushrooms. I crushed up cooked real bacon I had on hand and sprinkled over top then finished with the mozza cheese. It baked beautifully! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
876 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a 5-star recipes using the techniques described by a previous reviewer. "Skip the first step. Then sauté the spinach and mushrooms in a little butter and place in bottom of dish. Then place the uncooked chicken on top, add the sauce and top it off with real crumbled bacon and bake for 25 minutes at 350. Remove from oven and top with 1 cup mozzarella and continue baking for 10 minutes at 350."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is now one of my favorite dishes! I do make quite a few changes based on reviews, but it comes out as an incomparably excellent dish that I would be proud to serve to company! My hubby stated it tastes like a meal at one of those "fancy restaurants". :) My changes were as follows: 1. I fried 4 pieces of bacon on the stove. 2. In the bacon grease, I sauteed the chicken which I had cut into bite-sized pieces and the garlic. I added half of the chicken chunks in with the sauce and the other half I laid on top of the spinach and mushrooms and poured the sauce over. 3. In the bacon/chicken juice, I sauteed fresh spinach leaves (1 bag of prewashed) and the mushrooms. 4. I used 1% milk instead of half and half. 5. I put 1 cup of Mozz. in the sauce and 1 cup on top of the casserole. 6. I baked at 350 for about 30 mins and put the last cup of cheese on the last 10 mins. I baked in a covered casserole dish until about 10 mins were left. When I added the cheese, I left the casserole uncovered. Lastly, I served over angel hair pasta with "Summerly Squash" w/ veggies from my veggie garden, and it was a nice compliment to the entree. This was a PERFECTLY delicious meal, and I'm so excited about the leftovers! ;) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Oh my goodness this recipe is GREAT! The different flavors meshed wonderfully together. I saved myself a lot of time and stress changing just a few things. Those changes were: 1.) cut up chicken into chunks 2.) cooked chicken and minced garlic together in a pan with a few tablespoons of olive oil 3.) After chicken was cooked, I added the soup, milk instead half-and-half, 6 oz. shredded mozzarella, and lemon juice. 4.) Stired it all up on medium heat til creamy and then poured the entire mix on top of the spinach (I used frozen; turned out just fine) and mushroom layer as stated in the recipe. I then crumbled real bacon on the top and baked for 25 minutes. We ate it on top of bowtie pasta. This is DEFINITELY a keeper!!! So easy to make and so delicious! Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Made a few changes with what I had on hand...I used milk instead of the half and half. I made my own bacon bits and sauteed the chicken in the bacon grease, just a few minutes on each side. Then, put that off to the side and added the mushrooms and the garlic to the pan with just a little butter and olive oil. I deglazed the pan with a splash of white wine and added the soup milk mixture. I forgot all about the lemon juice and reduced the seasonings to 1/2 because of the comments from other reviewers. Baked this for 20 minutes and then added the cheese for another 10 minutes at 350. Served it with Roasted Garlic Wild Rice and it was delicious. Definately a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Just made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I loved it. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces and sauteed them in a little olive oil and minced garlic until cooked thru. Removed the chicken and wilted some fresh spinach in the chicken juice that was left in the pan. Removed and squeezed dry. I did not use butter or lemon juice. Just mixed together mushroom soup, fat free half and half, parmesan and 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. Stirred chicken and spinach into the soup mixture, poured into a pie plate and just sprinkled a little additional parmesan cheese on top. Served over angel hair spaghetti. The sauce is wonderful! To cut way down on the fat in this recipe, I omitted the butter, bacon bits and mozzarella cheese and used fat free half and half and it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I doubled this recipe for a casual dinner party with my college friends and they loved it. Of course, anything home-cooked is better than the food they serve at the campus cafeteria, but this recipe was easy and delicious. I took some advice from fellow reviewers and cut up the chicken into bite-size pieces and cooked it on the stove top with some onion and a pinch of salt. For the sauce, I put all of the cheese in the pot (instead of sprinkling on top) and I used 3/4 cup 2% milk instead of a whole cup so it wouldn't be too runny. I also only added one tablespoon each of the garlic and Italian seasoning (again, I doubled the recipe). Either way though, I think that if I made 4 servings, I'd still use a little less Italian seasoning, because 1 tbsp was plenty. In the end, I sprayed the pan and put cooked penne on the bottom, topped that with chopped up broccoli, then the chicken. Since it was already done, I put it, uncovered, in a 350 degree oven for 15 min. just to heat it through. Served with the Cheddar Bay Biscuits from this site...awesome! Great recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Pretty good overall. I saute the chicken rather than bake, as baking can tend to dry out the chicken. Also, I use about 1/2 a bag of fresh (washed and dried) spinach spread out evenly on the bottom of the pan. I also add a splash of white wine. This has a "sophisticated" taste that is good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Excellent! My chicken-loathing boyfried even after the leftovers the next night! Taking some of the other reviews into account, I browned the chicken on top the stove and used two bags of pre-washed fresh spinach. I also opted for milk rather than cream. The resulting casserole was a bit 'saucier' than I expected but I cooked it in the oven for about an hour because the pieces of chicken were so huge! However, the chicken was so tender you could cut it with a fork. I never know whether or not to cover a casserole unless the directions specify that, so I put a cover on this one. Maybe that was why it had more liquid. But don't let my results sway you! This is an excellent dish!!! The only thing I 'might' add would be a small amount (1/4 cup) of chopped onion to give more flavor to the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States