Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made the sauce and put it with chicken and pasta. Would put less Italian seasoning next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Would not make again. Too much spinach and the canned spinach tastes bad. Didn't come together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I was so looking forward to making this dish for my family. I made only a couple of changes that I think made it a little better than it would have been. I sautéed the chicken only long enough to brown it, and baked with everything else for 25 minutes, and then 10 minutes after the mozzarella was added. I used a bag of fresh spinach because I don't like any canned vegetables, and used milk instead of half and half. Other than these modifications, I followed the rest of the ingredients list to the letter. I may try this recipe again. I will make some of the suggested changes from other reviewers, and make some of my own. I will stay with using milk instead of half and half. The sauce was plenty rich with milk. The chicken was moist and tender. So I would do that the same and also use fresh or frozen spinach instead of canned. The amount of bacon bits was far too much. They made the dish much too salty. Next time, I will use crumbled real bacon or leave out the bacon all together. I think I would also reduce the amount of Parmesan cheese to 1/3 cup. Flavors in a sauce should blend and compliment, and I could single out the Parmesan cheese. I would also greatly reduce the amount of mozzarella cheese. The recipe calls for 2 cups. I used one cup and it was still way too much. I love mozzarella cheese, but this was overpowering. Neither my husband or I could eat this. We scraped off the chicken and picked out the spinach. This recipe has possibilities, but not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
best ever! we all love this one!! i use organic everything, i use frozen bagged spinach, fresh mushrooms, and real bacon. its delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I loved how the flavors mixed together perfectly! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I pr-cooked chicken in oven with butter but a little dry. I would sauteed in pan in butter and olive oil next time. I sauteed 1/2 chopped onion and mushrooms and butter, olive oil and Italian seasoning added minced garlic and squeezed half a fresh lemon over it. Then I added the cream and soup to that mixture and grated Parmesan cheese but just a 1/4 cup I used fresh spinach and parboiled it to make enough for 2 cups. I layered spinach, then half cream sauce chopped chicken into bite size pieces layered them and then covered with the remaining cream sauce and grated mozzarella on top. Baked at 375 degrees for 1/2 hour till bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocean princess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a good recipe my husband enjoys it. I do as other reviewers suggest and I skip the first part and I sautéed the mushroom and garlic in some butter and then sautéed fresh baby spinach until wilted. I have used frozen and thawed spinach as well before and it works too. I layer mushrooms and spinach on bottom, put raw chicken on top and pour prepared sauce on everything and top with bacon. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 then top with mozzarella and bake for 10 more minutes but I have add mozzarella before baking before and baked 30 and it turned out good. There is a lot of sauce and the water from the chicken can make it kinda runny so I think it would be good to use the sauce like a gravy for mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made as written, and while the rest of my family loved it, im not crazy about canned spinach so I think it would've been better with fresh or frozen. Five stars are for a happy family - the canned vegetable issue could very well be all in my head & I'm always harder on myself when it comes to the taste of food I prepare. This recipe itself is tasty, easy, and deserving of praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is a nice starting idea, but I rated it poorly due to the number of things I had to/chose to change. 1. Made the recipe healthier by only using 1/8 cup butter, 1% milk instead of half and half and only 1 cup of mozzarella cheese on top. You still end up with a nice creamy sauce and it is plenty of cheese. 2. Used 2 - 10 oz. packages frozen spinach, it gets lots of spinach into the recipe and is cheaper than the fresh spinach...it gets cooked down anyways. Also used 8 oz. mushrooms because that's the amount that usually comes in a package. 3. Used 6 chicken breasts instead of 4. 4. Made the prep process much easier. Saute the mushrooms in butter, mix in spinach until heated through, layer on bottom of baking dish, arrange chicken on top, cover with sauce, bake for 30 minutes, top with cheese, bake for additional 10 minutes, top with real crumbled bacon before serving. The chicken was properly cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good, I followed the directions exactly besides the mushrooms because I forgot to buy them. I think I'll use fresh spinach and cook it instead of the can, mostly because it tasted like canned spinach. We still really enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States