Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made this last weekend, and it was fantastic. I was worried that baking the chicken would dry it out, so I pan-fried it in olive oil instead. I substituted the half-and-half with milk because that's what I had on had. I also used fresh spinach rather than canned and cooked my own bacon and crumbled it instead of using bacon bits. My husband raved over this dish, as did I. I will be making this again. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I first made this recipe exactly as written, and it was good. I did notice, however, that in layering the spinach and mushrooms in the pan, I would get random huge bites of spinach, and then none in other bites. I would have given the dish 3 stars then. After reading reviews from others, it's not the ingredients I changed (aside from milk instead of half and half), but rather the way I put it together. Everything up to step three I follow- then I simply add my spinach, bacon, and mushrooms to the sauce itself, stir it all together- place the chicken in my pan (do not brown it first, waste of time) and pour the sauce to coat. Pop it in the oven for about 25 minutes and it comes out perfect! Letting it set after pulling it out of the oven thickens the sauce a bit, and it's simply DELICIOUS. I've made this recipe time and time again and it's one of my favorites on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda3242001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
LOVED this recipe...I would dice the chicken like others suggested, other than that it was so delicious. I will definitely make it again for my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Loved this! We had it for dinner tonight. My boyfriend thought it was the best chicken he ever had. I followed the recipe following instructions for 3. Mainly because I had 3 chicken breasts. I loved partially baking chicken first. That way none of the drippings were in the casserole. My chicken was moist and cut with a fork. I cooked bacon and made fresh crumbles. The flavor is awesome. Would have been good served over fettuccine pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great dish! I have a pretty large family and I used more chicken than the recipe called for. So I had to stretch the recipe with alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Family loved it and they are picky! I did like most people and sautéed the spinach and mushrooms in a little butter and placed in bottom of dish then placed the uncooked chicken on top, added the sauce and topped it off with real crumbled bacon and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Removed from oven and topped with 1 cup mozzarella and continued baking for 10 minutes at 350 (not 400). It was so moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Made this last night for me & my husband. This is fantastic!! the flavor of the sauce was so yummy. He LOVED this dish!! I went exactly by the recipe. I doubled the sauce so I would have extra for the penne pasta. We have alot of leftovers and trust me it will get eaten :) Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I like it a lot, although like most other reviewers, I felt that the recipe itself was a start that could benefit from a lot of tweaking. So forgive me for giving a review for a recipe that I modified heavily, without at least trying it as written the first time. I usually don't do this. My only addition to the many very worthwhile comments would be: 1. spend 5 more minutes to make a quick white sauce, then add your own mushrooms, using at least 8 oz. of fresh mushrooms (you can even add a touch of sherry); 2. use fresh or frozen spinach instead of canned. We buy large bags of fresh spinach that we can never finish, so I freeze it and always have some available for cooking; 3. if you are concerned about saturated fat, you can substitute canned milk for the half and half without even noticing the difference--the other strong flavors will dominate, and the texture is controlled by the thickness of the rest of the sauce. Try it once before you dismiss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
You MUST MAKE THIS!!!!!!!! Whether you follow the recipe exactly (which I've done) or change it up, you will NOT be sorry! It's so good!!!!!! The 2nd time around, I used fresh spinach, cheese and REAL BACON crumbled up. It is oh so good......served it over penne pasta! YUMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States