Chicken Florentine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a good recipe my husband enjoys it. I do as other reviewers suggest and I skip the first part and I sautéed the mushroom and garlic in some butter and then sautéed fresh baby spinach until wilted. I have used frozen and thawed spinach as well before and it works too. I layer mushrooms and spinach on bottom, put raw chicken on top and pour prepared sauce on everything and top with bacon. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 then top with mozzarella and bake for 10 more minutes but I have add mozzarella before baking before and baked 30 and it turned out good. There is a lot of sauce and the water from the chicken can make it kinda runny so I think it would be good to use the sauce like a gravy for mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made as written, and while the rest of my family loved it, im not crazy about canned spinach so I think it would've been better with fresh or frozen. Five stars are for a happy family - the canned vegetable issue could very well be all in my head & I'm always harder on myself when it comes to the taste of food I prepare. This recipe itself is tasty, easy, and deserving of praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is a nice starting idea, but I rated it poorly due to the number of things I had to/chose to change. 1. Made the recipe healthier by only using 1/8 cup butter, 1% milk instead of half and half and only 1 cup of mozzarella cheese on top. You still end up with a nice creamy sauce and it is plenty of cheese. 2. Used 2 - 10 oz. packages frozen spinach, it gets lots of spinach into the recipe and is cheaper than the fresh spinach...it gets cooked down anyways. Also used 8 oz. mushrooms because that's the amount that usually comes in a package. 3. Used 6 chicken breasts instead of 4. 4. Made the prep process much easier. Saute the mushrooms in butter, mix in spinach until heated through, layer on bottom of baking dish, arrange chicken on top, cover with sauce, bake for 30 minutes, top with cheese, bake for additional 10 minutes, top with real crumbled bacon before serving. The chicken was properly cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good, I followed the directions exactly besides the mushrooms because I forgot to buy them. I think I'll use fresh spinach and cook it instead of the can, mostly because it tasted like canned spinach. We still really enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Not that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a good concept, and it was OK. However, I agree with another reviewer that it is too rich... the condensed soup is just too strong. If you can somehow tone down the soup it would be very good. I will try again with a lighter version of the sauce. Also, I recommend using fresh spinach and mushrooms. I sauteed mine first and layered everything else on top and it was my favorite part of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
............OUTSTANDING!!! A SUPERIOR RECIPE IN EVERY WAY!!!! GREAT MEAL FOR A WED NIGHT!!!.............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Made this last night. It was good but I think next time I will use fresh spinach and double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was very good. I substituted frozen spinach and extra chicken (cut up). Next time I would try fresh spinach and two cans of cream of mushroom soup, because it was a little watery from the spinach and needed more sauce to cover the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was really good. We served it over a multigrain rice. I second the tip to use fresh spinach. We used frozen after we opened the canned up, its been many years since I used canned spinach and it was awful. Threw it out and used what we had left frozen. Also, subbed greek yogurt for half and half since that is what we had. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States