Chicken Flautas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
huge hit at my house. My 7 year old, who never eats anything with tortillas, gobbled these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very simple recipe. I only had ground turkey on hand so I just scrambled it up and added the rest of the ingredients just as the recipe states. Since there are so many reviews and impossible to read them all, I apologize if this suggestion for preparing the tortillas is a duplicate. I used to soften corn totillas by cooking them in oil for a few seconds for other Mexican dishes, but it always seemed so unhealthy and handling the tortillas after being in hot oil was excruciating. Finally a coworker told me to place a small cup of water in the back of the microwave oven, then place about 5-6 tortillas on a plate between wet paper towels and microwave for about 40 seconds. Careful, they will be hot from the steam but at least not greasy. They come out nice and steamed to perfection and can be used to make so many different Mexican dishes where the tortillas need to be rolled like in enchiladas or bent like soft taco shells for a recipe like fish tacos. So the pan of oil is one reason I gave it 4 stars. I also ended up pouring some tomato sauce mixed with salsa over the top with a little of the leftover cheese because my husband thought they looked dry before even tasting them. The family loved them. I'd say this recipe will be a keeper when in the mood for a quick mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Excellent! Great taste and easy to make. Followed recipe exactly. Definitely in my rotation now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
You can also microwave the corn tortillas to make them pliable, then stuff them with the chicken mixture, then roll them into a flaunts and then fry them in oil. Then put them in a casserole dish and in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I haven't tried this, but I have a suggestion you might want to try. I have several recipes that involve heating/frying corn tortillas to make them pliable for rolling. Instead, I put them in the microwave, one at a time, for 10-12 seconds each. Completely limp and easy to use, and way fewer calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This came out so good! I didn't have picante sauce so I used fresh salsa with red onions and tomatoes and green onions. I'm feeding it to a kid so I don't want to make it too spicy. The flavor of the chicken is great! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This sounds more like taquitos since the only Flautas I have had was a flour base shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Great recipe, perfect way to use barbeque grilled chicken cooked the night before, and yes, soften the tortillas in plenty of oil and turn once while baking, this allows for even crispiness. Happy Cinco de Mayo !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francis Cruz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I rated this 4 stars as written because we like a little more cumin and salsa (instead of picante sauce) when we make this. Also, for an even faster meal, I roll the tortilla, secure with a toothpick, lightly brush either side with olive oil and fry both sides. I skip the oven entirely. It isn't quite as crispy this way but it is a little healthier and faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States