Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I have made this dish over the years with a couple variations. One way is to wrap one or two slices of dried beef around the chicken breast, then wrap a couple of slices of partially cooked bacon around that. I've also pounded the breasts and rolled them with the dried beef, wrapped the rolls with bacon and then browned them to crisp the bacon before baking in sour cream mixture. If I want to be lazy, I'll wrap the chicken in the bacon brown to crisp and then finely chop a few slices of the dried beef and mix it into the sour cream soup mix. With all methods I always make extra sauce and always add sliced fresh mushrooms and a bit of sherry.This is really one of our favorite recipes. I'm not sure that I'd like it with the whole dried beef slices underneath it all. I think the beef needs to be more incorporated into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I've been preparing this recipie for many years in my crockpot. I think it's the very best way to do it. When it's done the chicken falls apart from being cooked so long. The flavour is amazing, and it reheats wonderfully for the next few days. (Assuming there is any left!) I have tried the variations with low fat substitutions and sound it always tastes pretty much the same... always delicious. When done in the crockpot, just create layers of the chicken wrapped with bacon, dried beef, and soup mixture. I also like to top it off with a few fresh mushrooms near the end of the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Thanks for "exposing" what my husband used to refer to as his grandmother's secret recipe! I have loved this ever since he made it for me the first time, and I like being able to make it myself now. Our ingredients are basically the same, but the assembly is a little different. Instead of dried beef, we use the inexpensive thin sandwich beef (Carl Buddig brand in our area). I have never felt the recipe is overly salty, so the luncheon meat must help with this. In addition, I use chicken breast tenderloins instead of the whole breast. For assembly, we wrap 2 slices of the beef around the chicken tenderloin, then wrap the bacon around it, then pour the sour cream/soup over the top of the assembled pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I used deli sliced boiled ham instead of the chipped beef - it took away a lot of the saltiness. Since my first time, I've experimented and have placed either chopped spinach, aspargus or sliced carrots on top of the breast before wrapping in the bacon. I also layer swiss chesse on top of the bacon prior to covering in the soup/sour cream. If I've used spinach, I use cream of spinach soup; aspargus, cream of aspargus, etc. This recipe can really be changed, added to and it comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I have had this recipe for 30 years, and the friend who gave it to me said it was the most flexible recipe in the world. She was right. I fix this the day before, put it in the fridge over night, thereby freeing up my time when I have company. I also leave out the bacon entirely, since tere is plenty of salt and taste without it, and my family complained about the 'grease'. I increase the sour cream to a pint per can of soup. It also reheats like a dream, even in a microwave. Also you can cook it at 250, 275, 300, 350, just try and see which result you like. I think it is better the longer it cooks so I opt for 250, and 3 hours. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
HAVE MADE THIS FOR YEARS, ONLY WE CALL IT "CHICKEN SUZANNE". NEVER USE THE BUDDING BEFF...ONLY ARMOUR DRIED BEEF WILL DO! I'LL CUT OFF THE FATTY 1/4 TOP OF BACON SLICE...CUTS DOWN ON FAT. DON'T USE ANY SALT. ALSO, I DOUBLE SOUR CREAM & SOUP FOR MORE GRAVY/SAUCE FOR RICE. DELICIOUS & SPECIAL FOR COMPANY OR SUNDAY DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
We really didn't like this recipe much at all. The flavours were strange and the dried beef remained hard and chewy. I thought it might soften and blend in with the sauce a bit like the bacon did. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTRELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Wonderful flavor! Presentation is pretty. The only problem for me was that it was way too salty! Next time I make this, I will be cutting down on the amount of dried beef and using reduced or no sodium cream of mushroom soup. Also, I will cover it with foil during last hour of cooking time. The tops of breasts tended to dry out since it wasn't covered.Thank you Marilyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was excellent! I used 1 can low fat cream of chicken(fam doesn't like mushroom) lite sour cream.I soaked the dried beef in water and then just used 1 slice per breast and wrapped the breast around the beef , then wrapped precooked turkey bacon around the breast. Put this on before church and lunch was ready on returning. When I am not trying to count calories and fat I want to try this with shredded tasso instead of the beef and use reg bacon. It was fantastic even using all low fat ingredients. Will make again!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this into a five star recipe by adding 1/4 cup of sherry to the sauce and sprinkling the sauce-covered chicken with parmesan and paprika. I also cooked the bacon, but kept it soft and only cooked the chicken for 1 hour at 275 instead of 3 hours. I thought it was very good, super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States