Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
Definately a keeper recipe. I didn't think it was too salty. I've made this twice now. The first time I rinsed the bacon and beef. I thought it lost the flavor. Second time I didn't rinse anything. Definately better the second time. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Uck! This was a very greasy dish. The dried beef added a salty layer to it. I mean SALTY. It was almost too salty to eat. The bacon flavor was way too strong and added alot of grease. It might be better with ham and no dried beef. However, this one is going in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is the EASIEST chicken recipe I've ever made - and it was DELICIOUS. I tripled the recipe and served the cooked product at a church dinner. I received RAVE reviews. It was very salty, so next time I would use lower-sodium mushroom soup. I would also take another reviewer's advice and lightly cook the bacon to remove some of the fat in advance(I used thick-sliced bacon); I would wrap the dried beef around the chicken, then wrap the bacon; finally, I would add sherry to the sauce. The men(especially) said how wonderful it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
HAVE MADE THIS FOR YEARS, ONLY WE CALL IT "CHICKEN SUZANNE". NEVER USE THE BUDDING BEFF...ONLY ARMOUR DRIED BEEF WILL DO! I'LL CUT OFF THE FATTY 1/4 TOP OF BACON SLICE...CUTS DOWN ON FAT. DON'T USE ANY SALT. ALSO, I DOUBLE SOUR CREAM & SOUP FOR MORE GRAVY/SAUCE FOR RICE. DELICIOUS & SPECIAL FOR COMPANY OR SUNDAY DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe sounded good, but I was only so-so on it. It was pretty greasy and VERY salty. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this into a five star recipe by adding 1/4 cup of sherry to the sauce and sprinkling the sauce-covered chicken with parmesan and paprika. I also cooked the bacon, but kept it soft and only cooked the chicken for 1 hour at 275 instead of 3 hours. I thought it was very good, super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Very greasy! If I were to cook this again I would cook the bacon before baking this dish. Quite salty as well and I only used 2.5 oz of dried beef. My husband really liked it and he is a little picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was excellent! I used 1 can low fat cream of chicken(fam doesn't like mushroom) lite sour cream.I soaked the dried beef in water and then just used 1 slice per breast and wrapped the breast around the beef , then wrapped precooked turkey bacon around the breast. Put this on before church and lunch was ready on returning. When I am not trying to count calories and fat I want to try this with shredded tasso instead of the beef and use reg bacon. It was fantastic even using all low fat ingredients. Will make again!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I have been making this recipe for years and it is delicious. Very rich. No need to add salt. I usually double the sour cream and soup mixture because we like to have a little sauce left over for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Very Good. I prefer my bacon cooked crisp, so next time I will precook the bacon and sprinkle over the whole dish. Also, I wrapped the beef (I used Buddig luncheon beef) around the chicken. This dish is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States