Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Ok, so I'm not the world's best cook. I forgot to thaw the chicken so I cooked it frozen and added another 30 minutes cooking time. It was wonderful. What a forgiving, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I just tried this recipe. Even my picky eaters loved it. I used two slices of uncooked bacon around each skinless, boneless chicken breast. Be sure to use the Hormel 5 oz. JAR of dried beef. It is much less salty than the dried beef that I have made creamed dried beef with. I followed the instructions exactly for the sauce and it was delicious over hot cooked noodles. Leave the soup in the condensed form and add the sour cream for the sauce. I also only did 6 breast pieces. The sauce amount was perfect for 6 servings. Thank you for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Chicken came out very tender and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
My husband and older daughter loved this dish. I did make a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and rinsed the dried beef first (a very good tip!). I placed the bacon on top of the chicken breasts instead of wrapping them. I used fat-free sour cream. And, I used one can cream of mushroom AND one can of cream of chicken soups for more sauce. I cooked uncovered for 1 hour & 15 mins at 350 deg. (I didn't have the luxury of 3 hours cooking time) and it still turned out wonderfully. The chicken was so tender I didn't need a knife to cut it, and the sauce was plentiful and delicious - perfect over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
WOW. Most definitely not the healthiest recipe but quite yummy to make up for it. The only changes I made was to use only 4 breasts but yet doubled the soup and sour cream (my husband likes lots of "gravy"). We both really enjoyed this and will make again very soon. I poured the gravy over egg noodles. Very good. I also pre-cooked the bacon halfway to minimize the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Ugh! Thank God I didn't invite anyone for dinner. This was terrible. I didn't rate it with because I made my chicken with turkey bacon, and rating the original recipe wouldn't be fair. The dried beef tasted terrible with the chicken. The only saving grace was the sauce, how can you go wrong with creamy soup mixed with sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
My family loves this dish! I use cream of chicken soup because some at my house wont eat mushrooms. I also cook at 350 for 1 hour. Chicken comes out delicious and fall-apart tender. Gravy is great over potatoes or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
I've been preparing this recipie for many years in my crockpot. I think it's the very best way to do it. When it's done the chicken falls apart from being cooked so long. The flavour is amazing, and it reheats wonderfully for the next few days. (Assuming there is any left!) I have tried the variations with low fat substitutions and sound it always tastes pretty much the same... always delicious. When done in the crockpot, just create layers of the chicken wrapped with bacon, dried beef, and soup mixture. I also like to top it off with a few fresh mushrooms near the end of the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I made this using one package of Buddig luncheon meat, chopped, and an equal amount of thin, sliced hard salami, chopped. I crisped the bacon and doubled the sour cream and soup. Rave reviews! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
YUM! This was so easy to prepare - and a very impressive dish! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States