Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This is easy to make. I have to honestly say that I didn't like it that much. But my husband on the other hand loved it and loved the favors. If it makes him happy, I will make it again. I used 6 slices of bacon and it alittle worried about the dried beef. But everyone has different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGMAY80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Couldn't resist trying this recipe, and I'm glad I did. After reading the previous reviews I adjusted the sour cream to 1 3/4 cups mixed with one can of cream of mushroom soup, laid the bacon on top of the chicken instead of wrapping, and used two (2 oz)packages of Buddig Beef cut in strips to line the 9x12 baking pan. I cooked the chicken for 3 hours uncovered at 300, I used a higher temperature because I live at a high altitude.The chicken was a little dry but next time I make this I'll try the lower temerature and see if that helps. The bacon did get crisp even with the soup/ sour cream topping but I don't think it would have if I had covered the dish. I didn't save the sauce it was kind of thin and there was a lot of grease from the bacon. The flavor was great, very elegant for a Wednesday night family dinner but they are my best critics. No bad reviews from any of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I have had this recipe for 30 years, and the friend who gave it to me said it was the most flexible recipe in the world. She was right. I fix this the day before, put it in the fridge over night, thereby freeing up my time when I have company. I also leave out the bacon entirely, since tere is plenty of salt and taste without it, and my family complained about the 'grease'. I increase the sour cream to a pint per can of soup. It also reheats like a dream, even in a microwave. Also you can cook it at 250, 275, 300, 350, just try and see which result you like. I think it is better the longer it cooks so I opt for 250, and 3 hours. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Ok, so I'm not the world's best cook. I forgot to thaw the chicken so I cooked it frozen and added another 30 minutes cooking time. It was wonderful. What a forgiving, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I just tried this recipe. Even my picky eaters loved it. I used two slices of uncooked bacon around each skinless, boneless chicken breast. Be sure to use the Hormel 5 oz. JAR of dried beef. It is much less salty than the dried beef that I have made creamed dried beef with. I followed the instructions exactly for the sauce and it was delicious over hot cooked noodles. Leave the soup in the condensed form and add the sour cream for the sauce. I also only did 6 breast pieces. The sauce amount was perfect for 6 servings. Thank you for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Chicken came out very tender and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
My husband and older daughter loved this dish. I did make a few changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and rinsed the dried beef first (a very good tip!). I placed the bacon on top of the chicken breasts instead of wrapping them. I used fat-free sour cream. And, I used one can cream of mushroom AND one can of cream of chicken soups for more sauce. I cooked uncovered for 1 hour & 15 mins at 350 deg. (I didn't have the luxury of 3 hours cooking time) and it still turned out wonderfully. The chicken was so tender I didn't need a knife to cut it, and the sauce was plentiful and delicious - perfect over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
WOW. Most definitely not the healthiest recipe but quite yummy to make up for it. The only changes I made was to use only 4 breasts but yet doubled the soup and sour cream (my husband likes lots of "gravy"). We both really enjoyed this and will make again very soon. I poured the gravy over egg noodles. Very good. I also pre-cooked the bacon halfway to minimize the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Ugh! Thank God I didn't invite anyone for dinner. This was terrible. I didn't rate it with because I made my chicken with turkey bacon, and rating the original recipe wouldn't be fair. The dried beef tasted terrible with the chicken. The only saving grace was the sauce, how can you go wrong with creamy soup mixed with sour cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
My family loves this dish! I use cream of chicken soup because some at my house wont eat mushrooms. I also cook at 350 for 1 hour. Chicken comes out delicious and fall-apart tender. Gravy is great over potatoes or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States