Chicken Eugene Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I have used this recipe in the past and have really enjoyed it. I've gotten used to cutting back on the salt without losing all the flavor. I rinse the beef under hot water, drain, and blot with paper towels. I also use reduced sodium soups (whichever one you choose). Also, reduced sodium bacon- partially cooked first. It makes a big difference for folks trying to cut back on the salt, but not the flavor. Great dish with few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is an excellent dish. Following suggestions of others, I pounded the chicken breasts to even thinness, layered with beef and rolled into a tight cylinder. Each roll was wrapped with 2 slices of the pre-cooked (or partially cooked) bacon. I also added Sherry to the sauce. Very good but rich. I think 4 breasts would serve 6-8 when served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was pretty good but I think it could have been better w/some adjustments. Microwaving the bacon for a approx. 2 min. first otherwise it is still rawish when this dish comes out. also I used thinner chicken cutlets so I couldn't cook for 3 hours or it would have become tough. I cooked for 1 hour 15 min. and that was about perfect for the chicken. Only problem was the bacon was undercooked. I'll make this again and I'll make sure the bacon is almost finished when I put it in to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Using deli roast beef made this less salty. I chopped the beef and mixed it with the soup mixture. I used Cream of Chicken, and the result was bland; I think Cream of Mushroom would have worked better, and a splash of wine as some others have suggested would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
My husband was so impressed with this meal because it tastes and looks gourmet without all the prep work. I did take some suggestions and used the buddig beef and lightly cooked and blotted the bacon before wrapping. It was absolutely delicious and very filling... my only suggestion is to use more cream of mushroom soup and sour cream for extra sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I have been making this for special events for years. My family loves this dish and scream for more eveytime I cook it I usually add extra fresh mushrooms to it. soo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I've been making this for over 30 years. I don't use bacon anymore -- too much fat. I use light sour cream and 1 can each of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I also sprinkle sliced almonds on top before baking at 275. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Too salty with bacon AND dried beef. I was not please at all with the result and would have liked to have used my sodium for the month on something tastier like kettle korn or potato chips. Totally disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Great tasting recipe. All of our friends and family love it! We like it even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
We all felt like we liked the taste, but it was wayyy too salty. I would definitely rinse off the beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States