Chicken Encilantrada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
At first, we left out the chicken broth like some suggested. After tasting, we added it in then cooked it down. It helped with the strong tart taste of the salsa. We seasoned the chicken with homemade taco seasoning prior to cooking. Served it with tortilla chips, guacamole and refried black beans. Everyone agreed that it was delicious. Easy to make and will go in the rotation. Only suggestion that I would make is to add the fresh cilantro in after cooking and let it wilt. It's much more fragrant and tasty that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this tonight and the hubby and I loved it. I served it over white rice with tortilla chips. I made it just like the recipe stated. I can see how others would want some cumin in it, maybe I will try it next time. Since I make shredded chicken in the crockpot each week this is a great way to use some of it up. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I eliminated the chicken broth and served it over chips, after baking in oven with shredded cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was good, I will make again. I made this with green taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I really wasn't sure about this, my husband found the recipe, and I usually don't like cilantro. Not sure if I added a cup, but it mixed so well with the onion and the salsa. I added a pinch of cumin, maybe a half a tsp of garlic powder, and red pepper instead of black pepper. really good on chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a different spin on things, but very good. We used pico de gallo and corn tortillas to finish out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this the first time because I was looking for something different and easy. I'm not big on cilantro but I figured "why not?". my husband loved it and a friend who stopped by (and had already eaten dinner), couldn't help but eat it as well :O) I did change it a bit...I doubled the onion and added a hot pepper (red in color...someone gave it to me...chile perhaps?). I also added a few cloves garlic, some cumin and a splash of lime and dry white wine. I fried the chicken separately until almost done with a dusting of garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin so that it had a bit more flavor. I did use the stock but I used butter/flour to thicken a bit so that it wasn't too soupy. And for health reasons, I always use brown rice! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very tasty! I added a chopped fresh Jalapeno in with the onion. To prepare the chicken, I rubbed taco seasoning on liberally and then grilled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
After cooking a whole chicken we always have enough leftover to make this recipe. Great over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I was skeptical about trying out this recipe, especially when I put everything together in the pan. I thought I had cilantro, but I really only had GREEN ONIONS - which you can imagine is what I used as a substitution. Though, that was my ONLY change! I had marinated some chicken that I had frozen, so before I left for work I stuck it in the fridge to thaw it out. Cooked the chicken, set it aside and followed directions accordingly. I used "HERDEZ SALSA VERDE" for the green salsa and measured exactly 7 oz. We made our own chips with just flour tortilla and vegetable oil. Served it over jasmine rice seasoned with black pepper. A dish you MUST SERVE HOT! Despite that I didn't have cilantro and used green onions instead, it was still soo delicious!! Boyfriend and I loved it and both had fun making it! I'll be sure to use cilantro next time! I think for those who feel that this is lacking flavor, definitely marinate your chicken and make sure to serve hot! Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Perfect for Taco Tuesdays or any day of the week.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States