Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Outstanding! My dinner guest, a die hard red enchilada sauce fan, was swept away by these enchiladas and proclaimed these her new favorite (me too). Not to mention, I've never known her to eat much and she all but licked the plate clean! Genuine, simple and understated flavors, that all blended together perfectly. Just delicious, and just as written, "decorated" with a plop of sour cream. Can't wait to make this again--and I WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe received 5 stars from my super picky husband. I did adapt it a bit. I used about 3/4 cup green chili salsa instead of the green chiles in the cream sauce, and I put the small can of green chiles in with the filling. I also created a bed of cooked white rice with whole corn and diced roasted red peppers in the baking dish, and then put the enchiladas on it, which soaked up the extra cream sauce nicely and made a yummy side dish. It might have been too much cream sauce otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This recipe turned out great. I used a rotisserie chicken from the deli and shredded all the meat off of it. For the sauce I used a 14 oz. can of chicken broth,1/2 cup sour cream & 1/2 cup greek style yogurt to cut some of the fat. I also added some garlic powder,cumin, & paprika.When I rolled the tortillas with the chicken and cheese, I spooned a little bit of sauce on top before rolling them.Baked them at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.I used a 9x12 dish and was able to squeeze a couple extra tortillas in there.My husband loved this dish!! Not runny at all, just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made this tonight & it was a big hit! I followed the recipe ingredients, however I made it more like a casserole by layering the corn tortillas,chicken,sauce & cheese until my pan was full. I also added more green chile as my family prefers it hot! It was easy to make & will have it again soon..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNELYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
The sauce itself is four stars! Overall I did some "doctoring" (added a dollop of sour cream to the filler mixture and also used freshly chopped sauteed onion instead of minced) in efforts to get the kids to eat it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apaige232
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Now these are some ENCHILADAS! We live in Arizona and this recipe meets or beats all of the Mexican food restaurants here, and there are a lot of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apaige232

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG!! These came out soooo good! I had a five pound chicken that I roasted with olive oil and a super dry rub. My mom got me one of the roasters that are like the beer can thing, anyway, when this chicken came out of the oven it was a work of art in itself!! I shredded it, mixed in the onions and cheese. I added some of the chicken liquid so it was nice and moist. At this point, the old man could hardly contain himself.. I'll help..I'll help...SURE..so we got them all rolled, we made 24..and the sauce came out great. I used fresh green chili and we both thought it could have used more (next time). ANYWAY...they were heavenly!! This is the only recipe I will ever use!! I'm toying with the idea of using shredded pork, onions and cheese in the corn tortillas, smothered in red chili, (old man makes killer red chili)and covered in TONS of cheese. Ummmm..anyway, it's 7:30am and I can hardly wait till supper!! lol Thanks for passing this on to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Bev
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
YUMMY STUFF! Easy to make and even my husband, who doesn't usually like Mexican food, loved it. As I was rolling the enchiladas he was taking the chicken chunks and dipping them in the sauce. My kids asked for it twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a very good recipe. Extremely rich, and very filling. After reading the reviews I was pretty aggressive about spicing them up, we like flavorful foods. I started by sauteing the onions in EVOO with garlic and some minced jalepeno, then added the cooked chicken, cumin, cayene and some chipotle powder. For the sauce I added some more minced jalepeno, cumin, chipotle and salt. I put them under the broiler for a couple of minutes to finish off before the garnishes. Thank you for your submission, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
wow...this is great stuff! i only used two chix breasts and added sauteed mushrooms to the filling in place of the third breast. instead of green chilis (i don't care for them), i subbed tomatilla sauce--and added a little extra. i also mixed the cilantro into the sauce so the flavor would bake through instead of possibly tasting like an 'afterthought'. added 1 tsp. cayenne and 1 Tbs. garlic powder as well. i baked with the green onions on top for the same reason, rather then adding them after the pan was out of the oven. last, i subbed panela cheese for the mozz. and sprinkled a crumbly mex. cheese on the top after i pulled it out of the oven. !magnifico! would make again in a heartbeat! p.s. makes for great left-overs as well. just *HAD* to nuke a lil sample after re-living last night's awesome experience! mmmmm. i think i'm goin' back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States