Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent taste and very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
4.5 stars because I KNOW, this would have been too bland for my tastes as written. However, nice starting point. I was in the "use it up" mode so..had pre-cooked frozen chicken breast I thawed/chopped and seasoned up (3 Cups). Added 1/4 C each roasted/diced fresh poblano pepper & red bell pepper plus 1/4 C each of homemade refried beans and sour cream to chicken filling. I finely minced a sweet onion & mixed in about 1/3 C of that also. I had a bag of Mexican shredded cheese blend to use vs M Jack. This filled 12 corn tortillas (I heat in skillet to soften) I looked this up for the grn chile sauce but used a tomatillo salsa (didnt' have the grn chiles) with some of my minced poblano chilies. Added garlic/cumin/coriander/cayenne/parsley. Only used 1/2 S crm called for. Even with my additions/adjustments the taste was super. I wanted to use something other than 'red' sauce & this was it. Thanks for a versatile recipe you can adjust or adapt. I baked the cilantro & grn onion on top with the cheese. My company devoured them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I added some some southwest seasoning to the chicken, and put a generous teaspoon of chopped fresh cilantro inside each enchilada to add a little more flavor, and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this for my SO and he said it was good. He did mention that there wasn't enough sauce. So I'll probably double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I am only rating the sauce because I just made it for burritos. I did not do the enchiladas. This sauce is to die for! It's wonderful! I used fresh fire roasted green chiles and added a little more sour cream and "better than boullion" to the sauce because I was almost out (I just used what I had left). This is incredible! Highly recommend and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummy sauce! Double the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
WOW! These are excellent. Absolutely excellent. I made a few minor changes, not because I thought the recipe was wrong, but because of what I had on hand. I cooked the chicken in salsa to add a bit of flavor, so I skipped the onion. And I used 7 oz of green chiles instead of 4. These are seriously excellent. I had to force myself to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This rating is for the sauce. I use a different recipe for the enchiladas. Wonderful flavor blend of creamy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHoldren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Just wonderful!!! I added 3 crushed garlic cloves to the sauce. Think I will sauté the onions for just a few minutes next time. It's perfect the way it is if you like it mild, add some jalapeños for more spice if you like. I also did not use all 3 chicken breasts, it was just to much. Would be great with shrimp or crab or just spinach and mushrooms. Great recipe that you love as is or you can do a lot with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great idea & the measurements are spot-on, but it was too bland for me as written. I ended up adding some coriander, turmeric, garlic powder & cayenne pepper to the sauce the first time as I had them on hand. Also, I do not use sour cream anymore for anything. A high quality, plain, Greek style yoghurt can be substituted 100% for sour cream to cut fat & increase health benefits without a change in flavor (if it doesn't taste like sour cream then it's not high quality, no matter what it cost). I have found I prefer to add mushrooms & sometimes beans or Spanish rice to the filling mix & I no longer fry the tortillas-they roll fine at room temp. I've also used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in place of the chicken. This recipie, as written, is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States