Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great idea & the measurements are spot-on, but it was too bland for me as written. I ended up adding some coriander, turmeric, garlic powder & cayenne pepper to the sauce the first time as I had them on hand. Also, I do not use sour cream anymore for anything. A high quality, plain, Greek style yoghurt can be substituted 100% for sour cream to cut fat & increase health benefits without a change in flavor (if it doesn't taste like sour cream then it's not high quality, no matter what it cost). I have found I prefer to add mushrooms & sometimes beans or Spanish rice to the filling mix & I no longer fry the tortillas-they roll fine at room temp. I've also used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in place of the chicken. This recipie, as written, is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Had to make some reasonable adjustments on this to suit my vegetarian family. Replaced the chicken broth with some vegetable stock, and the chicken with some green chilis, cilantro and tomatoes. The sauce was a bit on the bland side, so I added some jalapenos and about 1/2 tsp of cumin. Next time, I will either make 1/2 the sauce or 2x the enchiladas. My husband said this was one of the top 5 meals I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'd give this ten stars, if available. Everyone loved it! I didn't have pre-cooked chicken, so I poached a chicken breast in chicken broth, which gave it wonderful flavor. Sadly, I also didn't have Monterrey Jack cheese (poor planning), so I sub'd a mixture of Mozzarella & Cheddar cheeses. It worked well. As others suggested, I did sautee the onions in EVO, to soften them, which my children prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG!! These came out soooo good! I had a five pound chicken that I roasted with olive oil and a super dry rub. My mom got me one of the roasters that are like the beer can thing, anyway, when this chicken came out of the oven it was a work of art in itself!! I shredded it, mixed in the onions and cheese. I added some of the chicken liquid so it was nice and moist. At this point, the old man could hardly contain himself.. I'll help..I'll help...SURE..so we got them all rolled, we made 24..and the sauce came out great. I used fresh green chili and we both thought it could have used more (next time). ANYWAY...they were heavenly!! This is the only recipe I will ever use!! I'm toying with the idea of using shredded pork, onions and cheese in the corn tortillas, smothered in red chili, (old man makes killer red chili)and covered in TONS of cheese. Ummmm..anyway, it's 7:30am and I can hardly wait till supper!! lol Thanks for passing this on to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've been making enchiladas of every kind for as long as I can remember. These were the absolute best. I did not use the cilantro, but otherwise, made them true to the recipe. Hubby and I scarfed them down at dinner, then finished them for lunch. Yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla Kinney
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made according to the dircetions it turned out VERY good. My boyfriend took one bite and said "this is awesome!" then when he was half way through he said "If you wanted to make these again- I wouldn't stop you!" I just added some more spices so that it wouldn't be so bland =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
So yummy! My hubby informed me that htis is to replace my old chicken enchilada recipe. HAHA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have made this dish many times and everyone loves it. The only changes I have made over time are to double the amount of green chiles in the sauce, saute the onions first (the first time they came out still crunchy in the enchiladas and I didn't like that), and I spoon a little sauce into each enchilada before rolling them up. Heating the corn tortillas first is a MUST, otherwise they crack and split when you roll them up. I have tried this recipe with four fajita-size tortillas and they are great, too. Sometimes I will do half flour, half corn, especially for friends so they can choose. Overall, SUPER great recipe! I'm so glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We loved this!! It was creamy but not to overpowering that you couldnt taste all the elements! Awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe! I made this last night and my boyfriend and I devored almost the entire pan ourselves. I followed the recipe to a T except I cheated and shredded a roasted chicken to save some time. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States