Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe. For a vegetarian option, substitute sautéed spinach and garlic and/or hominy, instead of chicken. My family loved this, and I followed the recipe exactly (other than adding the above ingredients with a little roasted chicken ... We're not big meat eaters!). Served with lettuce, tomatoes, olives, green and red onions, and homemade salsa ... I didn't feel that this needed additional spices, even though generally I use a lot of spices. This sauce would also be great on seafood enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnymtnmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Really delicious! Couldn't stop eating them. I made these tonight and followed the recipe as directed except I used two cans of the green chilis and sauteed the onion in butter! I thought they were by far the best chicken enchiladas I've ever made! My husband added hot sauce and enjoyed them very much, but as he always insisted that they could have been spicier! I will make these again, soon, and make one pan spicier for my husband. The pan for me will not change! This recipe did not disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe. We topped it with salsa and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Amazing! Just like the ones my mom made when we were growing up. I double the green chilis for more flavor, but otherwise follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
As it stands, this recipe is amazing. My fiance, who is an incredibly picky eater, has requested that I make these at least once every two weeks. That was six months ago, and I am making them again tonight! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! Sometimes I do like to play with the ingredients and add an extra can of chilies,pinch of cumin, or more garlic, but really it's great the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Love this recipe, I saute the onions in butter before adding them to the tortilla mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Fried corn tortillas and layered them. Used Mexican Blend Cheese. Kept chopped cilantro separate to sprinkle on top, since not all family members like it. Husband and I enjoyed this recipe and would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Really yummy, but a bit more work than I would have liked... (no, I'm not lazy, just busy). I will make them again, though, but not on a week night -- and I will make double the sauce quantity and freeze some, as it does freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I lightened these up quite a bit by using reduced-fat cheeses (and slightly less of it, one 8 oz package) and reduced fat sour cream, and also by cooking the tortillas in simmering broth for a few seconds instead of frying them. For those concerned with that sort of thing, I would recommend 1/2 oz. chicken and 1/2 oz. cheese per enchilada. I used real butter and white whole-wheat flour. They were good this way, although next time I think I'll use 1/2 cup less broth in the sauce, since it was a little runny; I'm sure it was the reduced-fat sour cream. With these changes, I'd give this recipe 4 stars, which is still pretty good for a lightened-up recipe; as written, I'd expect it to be a five, and I also don't think it's fair to penalize a recipe for choices that I made. Thus, five stars it is! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love the white sauce and use it on almost all of my chicken enchilada recipes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States