Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Good base recipe that is made better with the following additions: I poach chicken breasts in white wine and chicken broth with oregano, then remove and reserve the broth. Shred the chicken. Fry onion and garlic, add a bit of white wine, a can of chiles, chili powder, cumin and shredded chicken. Roll the tortillas with the chicken mixture and cheese. Add 4 TBS flour (less than called for) to butter then add a can of chiles and a can of salsa verde (green tomatoes and peppers. Stir in the reserved wine broth and sour cream - adding less sour cream to keep it a bit greener and fresher looking. A lot of changes but wow - one of the best enchiladas ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Was good but not "saucey" enough. Next time I'll add some green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
love these creamy enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I thought it was good, but pretty basic. Even adding a little bit of cayenne wasn't enough. I might make this again, but if I do, I'll add more cayenne and/or chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Still unsure about this. The onion in the filling gave a sweet taste, which I didn't like. However, the sauce was a bit redeeming. Sprinkled black olives and jalapenos on top after baking, along with the green onion. I think it has potential but the filling needs more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I had something similar to these years ago and really enjoyed them. I have been searching for that recipe and this sounded pretty close. I was real happy with the way they turned out. I did add some fresh green chili's and a little salsa verde to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I love this recipe! I serve it up with some roasted bell peppers and rice. Always a hit with guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe was great, and really pretty simple! I only made a few minor changes. I added salsa and Jalepenos to the filling, and added garlic salt and cumin to the sauce. Also, I would probably not use as much oil to soften up the tortillas as suggested, I think it was way too much, probably half that would be plenty so the tortillas don't fall apart. Also, we didn't have a big enough pan really to fit all the enchiladas, so it was more like a casserole, but I think with a bigger pan they would have been a tad more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made these with both corn and flour tortillas. I added a couple freshly chopped jalapenos; they came out so tasty! I froze the excess sauce - just brought it out, and it's as amazing as it was fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These enchiladas are tasty but nothing special. There was too much onion for my liking, it seemed to really take over the flavor. Next time I will add some other spices, probably some things others suggested, to give it more spice and flavor. It's a good start it's just missing the kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Country Ben
Home Town: Ridgway, Colorado, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States