Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
These were GREAT! I did sub 1/2 of the sour cream with 1/2 cup of green salsa. Other than that these are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My sis -- who lived in Santa Fe for years and is picky about green chile -- loved these. Leftovers did not last long! We topped w/ plain yogurt and green chile salsa. (Also, I just microwaved the tortillas a couple at a time for a few seconds to make them pliable enough to roll up...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Simple and delicious! Of course, I added an entire jar of green chili sauce made from one of Albuquerque's many local New Mexican food restaurants. Topped with sour cream and chives even though the green chili sauce called for sour cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very good with ground beef instead of chicken. I did add some garlic, salt, extra green chiles, and chile powder to the meat mixture for more flavor. Also used the juice from the green chiles as part of the broth for some extra spice. The sauce is delicious and easy. Although I used 2% plain yogurt instead of sour cream, it turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Its in the oven right now! I forgot to get broth at the store and had already drained the seasoned water from the chicken before I realized I was out...sooo....I used 1 can red enchilada sauce and 1 can water, it tastes good, and it smells great! My husband doesnt like food with tomatoes in it, so a lot of the time he wouldnt eat enchiladas, this creamy sauce is perfect for us both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This green enchilada sauce is amazing!! We can't use anything canned do to all the allergies in the house and I stumbled upon this in my search for a homemade enchilada sauce, it was great!!! TRY IT!!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRTSTP09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe was great, the only real cahnge I made was to saute the onions before adding them to the chicken mixture. Next time I make it I will saute a chopped red pepper with the onions and maybe add some spinach into the mix too just to add some veggies and nutrients. Thanks for a new keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good. However 4oz of chilies do not hot enchiladas make. Since other reviews said that this isn't very spicy, I took some tricks I use for Chicken Enchiladas V. I boiled the chicken breast in some chicken broth and shredded it. Then I sauted the onion in 1 Tbsp of butter and added the chicken as well as some taco seasoning (I didn't measure it, just enough to give each piece of chicken a little flavor). I mixed that all up and placed it in the tortillas, which I didn't fry, and added the cheese. I then made the sauce and added a little bit of the taco seasoning to the sauce as well. The end result was still very good. I guess if you are looking for something with more kick you can add what you want to either the chicken or the sauce, but i think this is supposed to be more of a cheesy kinda enchilada. I think next time I'm going to chop up some jalapeno rings and put it in with the onion and chicken. This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
YUMMY STUFF! Easy to make and even my husband, who doesn't usually like Mexican food, loved it. As I was rolling the enchiladas he was taking the chicken chunks and dipping them in the sauce. My kids asked for it twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Good base recipe that is made better with the following additions: I poach chicken breasts in white wine and chicken broth with oregano, then remove and reserve the broth. Shred the chicken. Fry onion and garlic, add a bit of white wine, a can of chiles, chili powder, cumin and shredded chicken. Roll the tortillas with the chicken mixture and cheese. Add 4 TBS flour (less than called for) to butter then add a can of chiles and a can of salsa verde (green tomatoes and peppers. Stir in the reserved wine broth and sour cream - adding less sour cream to keep it a bit greener and fresher looking. A lot of changes but wow - one of the best enchiladas ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States