Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great recipe. Only made some small changes to use what I had on hand. I used pulled pork instead of chicken, flour tortillas instead of corn, and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of green chiles. I used an immersion blender prior to adding the sour cream and the sauce was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We really liked this recipe! I cooked the chicken breasts by poaching them in water mixed with chili powder, cumin and oregano. This made them very moist and flavorful. The sauce was great. When I poured it over the rolled enchiladas, I was worried that it was too watery, but it thickened up 'til it was just right while in the oven. I especially enjoyed this because it reminded me of the Mexican food back home in Texas. They don't do sour cream sauces here in South Carolina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Surprisingly easy enchiladas. I added a little paprika to the chicken but these where a huge hit with my new husband. I get all my recipes from this site since I am learning how to cook. So thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Bennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe was a home run!! The only real change I made was in the assembly. Instead of rolling them individually, I layered 6 softened tortillas, then the chicken, cheese, and remaining tortillas. I poured the sauce over it and sprinkled with chopped red onion instead of putting the onion inside the mix. This recipe is by far the best chicken enchilada recipe I have EVER tasted. Better than my favorite Mexican restaurant. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These are very mild enchiladas. The sour cream tones down the chiles a lot. I followed the recipe. They were very mild, but flavorful. I had to add some hot sauce at the table. Frying the corn flours made it a lot easier to roll and the flours didn't seem soggy after they were cooked. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent! I used Rotisserie Chicken to save time, and it was very good....the sauce was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Yum! I have used this recipe twice, the first time I stuck to it, and thought it was great but a bit mild for my tastes. The second try I varied and really liked the difference. I boiled the chicken in broth and a can of Rotel hoping to give the chicken more "bite," then I used the boiling broth mixture to make the sauce too. Also lightly cooked the onion, adding a bell pepper and quite a bit of red pepper and some garlic too, turned out much spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My family loves this recipe. I sometimes use fresh jalepenos instead of the green chilis but either way it's fantastic. I also use flour tortillas sometimes, my kids seem to like the flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUZIEWICZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I ALWAYS fix dishes exactly as the recipe states the first time I make it. I don't think it is fair to rate a recipe if you change it... This recipe was great as is and was not too spicy even for the kids. The second time I made it just for the adults (all of whom like spice) I did double the green chiles and added a little cilantro/green onion mix inside each roll. Made a great deal of flavor change for the adults. I made enough for 4-each for 4 adults and still ran out (& we have very picky friends) This recipe is great. P.S. I did make the rue with real butter... mine always turns out better that way than using margarine or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Oh I forgot I also added black olives and jalapenos. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States