Chicken Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The chicken filling is delicious in this recipe - I could eat it with a spoon. I wasn't so sure about the flour tortillas. They soaked up all the liquid (there was a lot of runny liquid as others have said) and made a mushy tortilla. My son loved this recipe as is, so I suppose a 4.5 star rating is more appropriate. I might better enjoy either a thicker sauce, or a corn tortilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Pure AWESOMENESS!!! I made the recipe as stated but halved the cumin. I also seeded the chipotle chilis so they wouldn't mess with the texture. My husband loved them he said the flavor was great but he didn't like the feel of the veggies. I knew he was like that so I browned the onion and bell pepper which added a great flavor element but next time after doing that I will hit them with the blender stick or food processor before mixing with the chicken. I also added some garlic powder to the mix and the sauce. And you definitely need a little more sauce, I just poured more cream over after topping it with the cream/broth combo in the recipe...maybe 1/2 cup or so. So to some it up these were awesome and will be my go to enchiladas. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I totally enjoyed this recipe! I cut it in half since my kids don't eat ANYTHING! It was nice and moist inside. I didn't make the white sauce bec I didn't have whipping cream. Instead I added a bit of salsa w/ cheese to top before baking. My husband and I like things a bit more spicey than this so I'll prob add another chipotle pepper and/or jalapeno next time. You should definitely try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Thank You Molly! I cut the recipe in half and still had a tray of enchiladas. I agree with doubling the whipping cream and broth although I stayed true to the recipe first time around. My company also loved this recipe. I used authentic flour tortillas. The flavor was wonderful. I made the base a day ahead and rolled them the day of serving. Left them without the cream/broth until time to go into the oven. Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were excellent for me. The wife and kids thought they were spicy. I really enjoyed how the tortillas firm up as if it was fried. Next time I guess I'll leave out the chipotles and maybe find mild green salsa. (Which I couldn't find) These are a little bit of work, but worth it. I ended up with 10. (I think my chicken breasts were bigger than the norm)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This chicken mixture is SUPERB,... and the adobe peppers make it!!! The sauce needs a little work,... I made mine with a little cream cheese and sour cream,...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe is perfect! OMG, the filling is unbelievable. The only thing I did different was to not use the red bell pepper. I don't know what people are talking about with the sauce being too thin...it was perfect when using the exact proportions as written. Too give this an extra kick, try adding a dollop of sour cream on each serving. I thought I had the best chicken enchilada recipe. Not anymore! This is my new one!!! Thanks for a great recipe! You know, I just went back and read the opening paragraph where the author said she usually doubled the whipping cream and chicken broth. I think that would make this recipe PERFECT! Just wish I had read that part before I made this batch, which by the way, made TWO complete meals for a family of four. I cooked one pan and froze the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This recipe is very good, although I made quite a few alterations to make it better and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
One way to thicken the sauce is to use sour cream instead of whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I had to make a few minor adjustments due to what I had on hand - regular salsa, jalapenos, and Mozzerella and extra-sharp Cheddar. Oh, and I used McCormick's chipotle pepper powder. I thought the cream/broth would be too thin, so I heated it up, and stirred in some more cheese. Much better! Thanks, Molly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States