Chicken Enchiladas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This a good chicken BURRITO recipe. The problem with almost every recipe on this site for chicken enchiladas is that they call for flour tortillas!! Enchiladas are made with CORN tortillas, not flour. The corn tortillas also hold up better and have much better flavor. For chicken enchiladas, in place of flour tortillas, use white corn tortillas, and dip them in to hot oil just for a couple of seconds to make the tortillas flexible and easy to roll. Try it this way. It is so much better, though not low in calories, and it is also more authentic. If you want a lower cal alternative, use olive oil flavored or regular no stick cooking spray. Spray a skillet with the non stick cooking spray very generously then put in the tortilla for a few seconds on each side. Repeat the process including adding more nonstick cooking spray every time you add another tortilla. Same effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2556 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made quite a few changes to the recipe with excellent results. First, I used a store- bought rotisserie chicken. I doubled the sauce and used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of poblano chile soup. I also added a squeeze of lime juice, fresh cilantro, fresh garlic, pinch of oregano and chili powder and some salsa at the end. Those additions really gave it a nice flavor. I also used corn tortillas. I served the dish with homemade avocado salsa, beans & rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I would say that this recipe, as published, is an excellent basic one and quite adaptable. It stands on its own and is really yummy though. My husband, however, didn't really care for the flour tortillas and the ultra creaminess. It just didn't "feel" like enchiladas to him. I loved it. I am now cooking for a large group of people (10...sometimes more) including my grandfather who is on a strict renal diet. After reading some of the reviews here, I decided to give this recipe another try...with modifications. I DOUBLED the recipe as written, EXCEPT for: using 1 can chopped jalapenos (4 oz.), 1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper, and 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper in place of the green chilies; 4 cups of shredded chicken rather than 3; 2 dozen 6" corn tortillas rather than a dozen 12" flour ones; and a full cup of milk rather than 1/2 cup. I also ADDED to the sauce: 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp of chili powder, 1/2 tsp of cumin, and a can of cream of chicken soup (to help extend the sauce and add a little more chicken flavor). For color, I added a few more chopped red and green bell peppers on top of the cheese before baking. This made 12 servings, and was a major hit. It also fell within the sodium and potassium restrictions of my grandfather's diet. The added spices and the jalapeno added a more adult kick to them, and they "felt" more like enchiladas to everyone. This is a wonderful dish, good enchilada alternative for those who can't or won't eat tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
595 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is the best enchilada recipe I've ever tried. I found that the recipe measurements are perfect for twelve 6" sized tortillas. Instead of green onions, which no one in my family really cares for, I used 1 large chopped onion, and also 2 fresh finely chopped jalapeno peppers (in addition to the can of chilis that the recipe calls for) that I sauteed. I used Cream of Chicken soup, not mushroom. I added 1 package of dry taco seasoning to the sauce because the condensed soup and sour cream by itself just didn't feel like Mexican food to me. And to further "up" the Mexican factor, I used 1 can of refried beans -- I smeared the tortilla with approximately 1 tbs of beans (use more with a larger tortilla) before spooning on the chicken filling and wrapping. Instead of cubing, I also shredded the chicken. In addition, I increased the cheese to 2 cups (1 cup of sharp cheddar, 1 cup of Colby cheese). Yum! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Revamping this Review...yet again! Still a Wonderful Recipe!!!!! First made this back in 2002 without substituting any ingredients (ok i added a few...but didn't use non or low fat items). I use Extra Soft..Soft Taco Size tortillas..(8" I think). I get mine at Frys (Fry's/Kroger brand). They have a little more give to them and don't break as easily. Made it for a second time a few months after that with non or low fat ingredients. Tasted just as wonderful as with original ingredients. TRUST ME...NO ONE WILL BE ABLE TO TELL! AND...I know some of you have suggested or stated that enchiladas are made with corn not flour tortillas...This is true. But, for myself and my family and friends i have made this for...they prefer the flour over the corn. A lot of people said they didn't like the toughness of the corn and i personally don't like frying anything i don't have to. The only way to make the corn tortilla pliable is to fry it for a few seconds. Try tortillas made with organic ingredients. Ingredients altered or added: 1. 1 can of Ro-Tel tomatoes partially drained 2. 1 can of green enchilada sauce. 3. A shredded 4 cheese blend we get from Costco consisting of Montery Jack, Medium Cheddar, Queso Quesadilla, Asadero. 4. Low-fat sour cream 5. 1% Milk 6. A baked chicken from my local grocer that i debone and shred 7. Double the Sauce (VERY IMPORTANT) 6. 1 can of cream of mushroom soup (along with cream of chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I have made this recipe several times now and just realized I never rated it. I'll start by saying every time I feed this to someone new they end up leaving with the recipe. Really I follow it to a tee with the exception of cooking the chicken in chicken taco seasoning first and then making the recipe. It gives it a more authentic flavor. Other than that follow it and you will be very pleased and so will your guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
OHMYGOSH! These were the best enchilada’s I’ve ever made!!! And was told the best others have ever eaten.This is what I did for those who like suggestions and tips: Taking heed of the advise of other users, I planned on making more sauce from the beginning. So I used a package of boneless/skinless Chicken thighs (dark meat for more flavor) and one large bone-in split chicken breast. I coated all with Fajita seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, salt and pepper. Then I browned them along with chopped white onions in a pan in a little bit of olive oil on each side, added some water and chicken bullion to the pan, and cooked them until done. I then cut them up (careful to remove all bones from breast) and used that for the meat filling. I also added the onions that cooked with the chicken to the mix. As for the sauce: I dbl'd all ingrediants. I used two cans of soup one was crm chick/crm shroom combined and one was just crm shrooms. I also added 2 cans of mushrooms pieces, and an extra can of chili's. That was about all of the changes I made, except in addition to cheddar cheese, I also added a shredded white cheese on top (Monterey-jack works well, but I used an authentic Mexican variety that can be found in Texas). The sauce was enough to make about 9-10 enchiladas, each amply stuffed. EXCELLENT! (I also used fresh made tortilla's that you can find in some grocery stores, but not sure if that had any impact or not.) I cannot wait to make these AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
THE BEST enchilada recipe I’ve ever tried! This was better than the restaurants!! (Okay well, close!!) Everyone I made it for RAVED. The changes I made: I used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the grocery store for the chicken filling (a little more expensive, but well worth it), CORN tortillas instead of flour (I think enchiladas are technically supposed to be made with the corn tortillas), and for the sauce, instead of adding the 1/4 cup milk, I substituted a half a can of “Ortega’s” red enchilada sauce. This was key, if you ask me! THIS WAS SOOO GOOD!!!! Thank you, Steph!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I've made this twice already, adding a few ingredients to the cream mixture to spice it up: 1/4 tsp. cumin; 1/4 tsp. cayanne pepper; 1/4 tsp. salt; 1/2 tsp. black pepper; 1 T. chili powder; 1/2 c. salsa and another 1/2 can of soup (I used cream of chicken). I added 1 1/4 c. of the cream mixture to the cooked chicken and filled 3 tortillas instead of 6. I then added an additional 3/4 c. salsa and only an 1/8 c. milk to the cream mixture before spooning it over the tortillas. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This was a very easy recipe and a nice change from the Enchiladas I usually fix. I did make some changes to the recipe. I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of mushroom. I added about 1/2 half cup more chicken and 1/2 cup more cheese to the filling. I used 1/2 of the sauce in the filling. To stretch the sauce that was left and to add some zip I added about 3/4 cup of salsa instead of the milk. Really yummy! I served it with homemade guacamole. My family really liked it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States