Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Really good as a your own starting point. Used (1) jar of 8 oz. taco sauce (no tomato sauce or water) to mix into the the chicken (1 breast & 1 thigh/leg quarter) while cooking as well as a pkg. of taco mix. Still used the sour cream & cheese. I had the ingredients needed but the taco mix made more sense and was cheaper. Used a can of Green Enchilada sauce over the top so I left the green peppers out. Made (9) for a family of (3) (yes having two boys) and I was sold out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because I make it all the time but I make a lot of changes to improve the texture and flavor. It is an excellent base recipe. My modifications are similar to many of the other reviews: I use salsa instead of the tomato sauce, I omit the water, instead of the green bell pepper I use either a can of green chilies or chop up a few serrano peppers or jalapenos if I have the time and want it hotter, I usually use enchilada sauce instead of taco sauce (the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site usually), and I tend to up the sour cream by a bit and the cheese by a lot. Also, make sure you saute the onions first so that they are soft, not crunchy, and I recommend poaching the chicken and then shredding it. I find it easier and the shredded chicken makes for a nice texture. As for the negative reviews, if you are finding the recipe to be soupy, definitely omit the water. I've never found it necessary to use the water and I've never had this recipe turn out soupy. I can't speak to this recipe's authenticity, which is another common critique. Personally, I love Tex Mex, and this is probably more like Americanized Mexican food than authentic Mexican...it is tasty all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryon Thomas
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Love it ,,my family wants them every other week ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryon Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kb_madden
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
So good!! I made some changes as I cannot handle spicy food and my husband dislikes bell pepper.. I replaced the tomato sauce, water, chili powder and green bell pepper with pace mild picante sauce. If you make 8 servings I would use one jar (I think about 16 oz) of the picante sauce. Also did not use the taco sauce to top the enchiladas. Very good and super easy to make. I had everything in the fridge to make this. Also extra cheese ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times for my family, and it has been a huge hit with the whole crew each time. For me, that is really saying something because it is a rare recipe indeed that satisfies the ultra-picky palates of my guys. This is one of the few things I can make that everyone will eat and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Family loved it! But it took me 2 hours (including cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Eckles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I just made the enchiladas just as the directions say except I shredded the chicken instead of cubes it but oh my goodness they were amazingly delicious. My dad couldn't believe that was my very first time ever making enchiladas. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone and every one. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
First time makeing this recipe. Was very good. I did cut down the size for Two people. Made the Ten minute Enchiada Sauce this made this recipe very good. ***** I do most of the cooking in our home. Just to let you know I am now 80 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marine 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was delicious! It is very rich and we could only eat two a piece, FYI. I only used about 8 ounces of tomato sauce. I carmalized the onions in the same pan as I cooked the chicken. I used thinned sliced chicken breast and just chunked it as it cooked, as the recipe states I did strain to get rid of the cooked off fat. I will be making this again and again! Picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States