Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very good. I followed the previous reviewers suggestions and they turned out great. I Did not add water, I used a can of medium enchilada sauce, boiled 4 chicken breasts and cut them up, salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little chili powder, only used 2 -3 tablespoons of sour cream not a whole container and a lot more cheese. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made it into a casserole dish but substituted the corn tortillas for the flour tortilla. I used 18 small corn tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved the seasoning but leave out the tomato sauce & water and sub in enchilada sauce. Now it won't be so soupy and it will taste more like real Mexican enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Not good and expensive to make. Tastes like tomato soup with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious! Substituted tomato sauce and water with jar of enchilada sauce. Omitted chili powder as it was spicy without it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
turned out great. can not wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
READ REVIEWS FIRST! I wish I had. As is, this recipe is nothing to get excited about, but with the modifications recommended by reviewers I think it would be what the overall number of stars would have you believe. I'll try this once more using the advice given in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Really good as a your own starting point. Used (1) jar of 8 oz. taco sauce (no tomato sauce or water) to mix into the the chicken (1 breast & 1 thigh/leg quarter) while cooking as well as a pkg. of taco mix. Still used the sour cream & cheese. I had the ingredients needed but the taco mix made more sense and was cheaper. Used a can of Green Enchilada sauce over the top so I left the green peppers out. Made (9) for a family of (3) (yes having two boys) and I was sold out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because I make it all the time but I make a lot of changes to improve the texture and flavor. It is an excellent base recipe. My modifications are similar to many of the other reviews: I use salsa instead of the tomato sauce, I omit the water, instead of the green bell pepper I use either a can of green chilies or chop up a few serrano peppers or jalapenos if I have the time and want it hotter, I usually use enchilada sauce instead of taco sauce (the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site usually), and I tend to up the sour cream by a bit and the cheese by a lot. Also, make sure you saute the onions first so that they are soft, not crunchy, and I recommend poaching the chicken and then shredding it. I find it easier and the shredded chicken makes for a nice texture. As for the negative reviews, if you are finding the recipe to be soupy, definitely omit the water. I've never found it necessary to use the water and I've never had this recipe turn out soupy. I can't speak to this recipe's authenticity, which is another common critique. Personally, I love Tex Mex, and this is probably more like Americanized Mexican food than authentic Mexican...it is tasty all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bthomas
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Love it ,,my family wants them every other week ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States