Chicken Enchiladas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved the seasoning but leave out the tomato sauce & water and sub in enchilada sauce. Now it won't be so soupy and it will taste more like real Mexican enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Not good and expensive to make. Tastes like tomato soup with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Delicious! Substituted tomato sauce and water with jar of enchilada sauce. Omitted chili powder as it was spicy without it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
turned out great. can not wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
READ REVIEWS FIRST! I wish I had. As is, this recipe is nothing to get excited about, but with the modifications recommended by reviewers I think it would be what the overall number of stars would have you believe. I'll try this once more using the advice given in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Really good as a your own starting point. Used (1) jar of 8 oz. taco sauce (no tomato sauce or water) to mix into the the chicken (1 breast & 1 thigh/leg quarter) while cooking as well as a pkg. of taco mix. Still used the sour cream & cheese. I had the ingredients needed but the taco mix made more sense and was cheaper. Used a can of Green Enchilada sauce over the top so I left the green peppers out. Made (9) for a family of (3) (yes having two boys) and I was sold out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because I make it all the time but I make a lot of changes to improve the texture and flavor. It is an excellent base recipe. My modifications are similar to many of the other reviews: I use salsa instead of the tomato sauce, I omit the water, instead of the green bell pepper I use either a can of green chilies or chop up a few serrano peppers or jalapenos if I have the time and want it hotter, I usually use enchilada sauce instead of taco sauce (the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site usually), and I tend to up the sour cream by a bit and the cheese by a lot. Also, make sure you saute the onions first so that they are soft, not crunchy, and I recommend poaching the chicken and then shredding it. I find it easier and the shredded chicken makes for a nice texture. As for the negative reviews, if you are finding the recipe to be soupy, definitely omit the water. I've never found it necessary to use the water and I've never had this recipe turn out soupy. I can't speak to this recipe's authenticity, which is another common critique. Personally, I love Tex Mex, and this is probably more like Americanized Mexican food than authentic Mexican...it is tasty all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bthomas
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Love it ,,my family wants them every other week ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kb_madden
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
So good!! I made some changes as I cannot handle spicy food and my husband dislikes bell pepper.. I replaced the tomato sauce, water, chili powder and green bell pepper with pace mild picante sauce. If you make 8 servings I would use one jar (I think about 16 oz) of the picante sauce. Also did not use the taco sauce to top the enchiladas. Very good and super easy to make. I had everything in the fridge to make this. Also extra cheese ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times for my family, and it has been a huge hit with the whole crew each time. For me, that is really saying something because it is a rare recipe indeed that satisfies the ultra-picky palates of my guys. This is one of the few things I can make that everyone will eat and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States