Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I used two cans of red enchilada sauce. 3/4 can in the pan, 1/4 in the bottom of the baking dish and another full can on top. I tossed about. 1 tblspoon of chili powder into the pan as well based on other reviews. Plus, added about 3/4 cup cheddar on top of the rolled enchiladas, and topped with 1/2 cup sliced jalapeño and one small can of diced black olives. I had whole wheat tortillas on hand and used them in lieu of the corn (although not excrly authentic, this really help the texture IMHO) This recipe may be great on it's own as well, I'm just a better cook when I veer from the recipe a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
very good and super easy!!! My boyfriend and I made these yesturday for dinner. Im currently eating the leftovers at my desk.. really good. I took other reviewers advice and poured the rest of the enchilada sauce over them before baking..i also dipped the tortillas in the enchilada sauce in place of the water. I added jalapenos and a can of black beans to the filling mixture.. very good. Next time i think ill add more cheese and some fresh tomato slices on top at the end..very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nestars@yahoo.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I'm giving it a four b/c I poured half of another can of sauce on top of the enchiladas before baking so they wouldn't be too dry. That said, my husband said these were restaurant quality and I'll definitely be making them again. I served them with a Black Beans and Rice recipe I got from this site, which was the perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
The recipe may be great... I wouldn't know. The directions are a particular kind of awful. The tortillas barely stayed together long enough for me to get them filled and into the dish. Some where it really needs to say, "You need a tortilla steamer to make these into anything resembling an enchilada." I am eating crumbled tortilla over enchilada filling. It is also not what I would call spicey. Actually it is quite bland. On a positive note... I do like the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I just made this recipe and wasn't really impressed. It was really bland. I ended up adding quite a bit of onion and garlic powder as well as a few tablespoons of sour cream and half a can of seasoned black beans to the filling. I also bought an extra can of sauce to pour over the top of the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very good and very delicious! I used canned chicken and made my own enchilada sauce with a recipe on this site. Will keep this one in my file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These were "OK." My fiance liked them, but I didn't.... At least they were easy to prepare :) On Wed., I go to a networking grp. and therefore am not usually home until later in the afternoon. I rarely feel like prep. an extravagant meal, but am always HUNGRY lol!!!!! This recipe fit my needs perfectly!!! I did find it necessary to make a few minor adjustments, however. As paslea1987 did, I too 'dipped' my (corn) tortillas to prevent cracking, but not in enchilada sauce - I used slightly warm chx. broth instead. To avoid a "dry" enchilada, I comb. a 10 oz. can of La Plaz enchilada sauce w/ my skillet mix. & then poured a bit of the other can (I used 2 cans tot.) on the bottom of my greased baking dish & the rest on top of my enchiladas. Following Traci B's Kitchen's advice, I added more cheese to each rolled tortilla (in addition to the 1/2 c. cheese I melted w/ the chx. mix.) & used the remainder of the 8 oz. bag of Kraft Mexican-style cheddar pepperjack cheese on top (we LOVE cheese!). To speed prep, I purchased a rotisserie chicken at my local grocer yesterday (they are 1/2 price after 9 PM!), but I suggest making your own & using the leftovers for this recipe instead (just be sure to plan ahead!). I think a garnish of chopped green onion / sliced olives & a dollop of sour cream would be a nice touch (and I think I would have enjoyed these much more had I done so...). Served w/ tortilla chips & Dirty Rice by jen (also on this site), this was a very filling meal. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Following some advice I used more sauce; I poured some on top and they were very good!.. After sprinkling the chicken mixture over the tortilla I then added cheese generously inside before rolling. I also sprinkled more cheese on top of the dish before baking!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Seemed a little bland and dry. Maybe I should have used more sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Followed recipe but used flour tortillas. It was an easy recipe for left over chicken. But my kids hated them. My husband and I thought they were good but not great. We won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States