Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
awesome.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made it using all ingredients listed. Added 16 oz of velveeta, can of corn, can of green chiles, a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, a dash of frank's red hot. I used the masa but I don't think it was really necessary. Not exactly low on the calories, but one bowl really filling and it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the same recipe as chicken enchilada soup II and the top secret recipe on the internet for "Chili's chicken enchilada soup." The only difference is this has cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta all other ingredients exactly the same and in the same portion. If you love Chili's soup you will like this. Although, I suggest if you want something more similar to use the Velveeta in the copycat recipe. Although, myself I wouldn't mind trying it next time with cheddar cheese as we added it to the tops of our bowls anyway along with tomatoes, green onions, and tortilla strips like the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great soup! I didn't have enchilada sauce and used salsa instead. I also threw in a handful of frozen corn. I'm hoping it freezes well since it made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Yummo...This was excellent. Everyone loved it. I did substitute extra sauce for 1 cup of the water and did add some frozen corn, a can of diced green chilis, and a dash of cayenne but it would have been good without the additions. We will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made this soup on Sunday, and am making it again tonight. It was so good! I love Chili's Chicken Enchilada Soup (but cant get it too often as it is pretty pricey), but this recipe turned out BETTER THAN CHILI'S! Took the advice of other posters and used corn tortillas (sliced and diced about 9 of them) instead of masa harina, and most of them just dissolved into the soup. Also used mostly chicken stock, but it was extremely salty. Tonight, I'll use more of the water called for in the original recipe. Added a can of black beans and corn, and diced half a bellpepper. As suggested by readers, I doubled up on the spices and added the cheese last. I basically turned off the pot and stirred in the cheese and it melted immediately and did not lump or string. I thought the soup was PERFECT before adding the cheese! It can definitely stand on its own. I sliced and diced the chicken breast as they were partially frozen;doing so made it so much easier to slice, and I seasoned to my liking before cooking it. Though I forgot to buy some while at the store, I think a dollop of sour cream will be the perfect end to this soup. I do plan on adding some veggies to bulk the soup up a bit. This recipe rocks, and I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
this soup had lots of flavor...i followed the directions to the letter and it ended up just very VERY thick. the first bowl wasn't too bad, but the next day i tried heating up some for lunch and it was more like peanut butter, so thick! any suggestions on how to fix this? i loved the flavor, and i'd love to be able to go back and give it 5 stars! maybe simmer less time? or use less masa harina? will definitely make this again, but will tweak a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My kids beg for this all year round. I add some frozen corn and a can of black beans to mine. To save money I buy the bone in chicken and make my own broth. It takes a little bit longer I can make the chicken the night before and store it. I also add a can of Rotel. We love the leftovers even more than the 1st night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The soup was much better then the restuarant one we recently had - we could not find enchilada sauce so used Taco sauce - adding the cheese was tricky but came out ok - we did not have ground cumin but added more chilli powder - he added hot sauce to his bowl and loved it - we will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tykat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is really tasty! I am going to make this over and over again. It's much easier than making actual enchiladas and tastes just as good. I roasted a whole chicken and used the breasts, it makes for very tender and juicy chicken and then you can use the rest of the chicken for something else. My husband gobbled this right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States