Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
this soup had lots of flavor...i followed the directions to the letter and it ended up just very VERY thick. the first bowl wasn't too bad, but the next day i tried heating up some for lunch and it was more like peanut butter, so thick! any suggestions on how to fix this? i loved the flavor, and i'd love to be able to go back and give it 5 stars! maybe simmer less time? or use less masa harina? will definitely make this again, but will tweak a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My kids beg for this all year round. I add some frozen corn and a can of black beans to mine. To save money I buy the bone in chicken and make my own broth. It takes a little bit longer I can make the chicken the night before and store it. I also add a can of Rotel. We love the leftovers even more than the 1st night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The soup was much better then the restuarant one we recently had - we could not find enchilada sauce so used Taco sauce - adding the cheese was tricky but came out ok - we did not have ground cumin but added more chilli powder - he added hot sauce to his bowl and loved it - we will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tykat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is really tasty! I am going to make this over and over again. It's much easier than making actual enchiladas and tastes just as good. I roasted a whole chicken and used the breasts, it makes for very tender and juicy chicken and then you can use the rest of the chicken for something else. My husband gobbled this right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was a very easy and delicious soup. I used the medium enchilada sauce and it had just enough spice- not too much. Very good on a dreary day! And, it does taste very similar to the one at Chili's!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe!!! And additional thanks to the reviewer who suggested using corn tortillas instead of masa harina. I've used six tortillas and I've used 10. It's all good. The right enchilada sauce makes all the difference; for authenticity I recommend Las Palmas medium or hot red sauce, if you can find it. I grew up with this stuff in Southern California, and although harder to find back east it's still possible. The enchilada sauce-to-water ratio is spot-on as long as you select a quality sauce. Don't be afraid to use more garlic, 4 or 5 cloves is about right with half of a large onion. I made this recipe a few different times, and I discovered that you do not need to add cheese during the cooking process. It's really not necessary for thickness (the corn tortillas are), and the cheese just globs at the bottom and sticks to the pot. Just add mild cheddar cheese with the rest of your garnish, fresher is better, and you require less cheese (healthier too). A squeeze of lime in the bowl, some fresh cilantro, some thinly sliced jalapeno, etc., and you're in business!!! I've seen reviews where others keep adding more and more stuff (even beans and Velveeta), and it seems they are trying to create a thicker chile or a dip rather than soup. The goal should be an authentic, light, simple enchilada soup of top fresh quality, so use the right sauce to begin with, keep it light, and enjoy life without clogging your arteries. Avocado salad makes a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Good stuff! I was unable to find masa harina, but took the advice of others and used 7 small corn tortillas torn into small pieces. I was a little worried that I'd have soggy chunks in the soup, but by the time the soup simmered the tortillas had totally disolved. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe! I replaced the masa harina with 5-6 corn tortillas, sliced. I added a jalapeno and a can each of black beans and corn. Definitely will make this one numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used green enchilada sauce for this recipe. It was just as delicious as chicken enchilada soup that I had in a restaurant. SOOOOOO easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Yummy! I rarely follow a recipe to the T, but for the most part I did on this one. Once I started tasting I added some salt and chili powder for a little extra zing. This really does taste like the Chili's soup, which is a favorite. I was going to go get it car-side tonight and found this first, yay! I did put tomatoes and green onions in as well as some cilantro (all as garnishes) with crumbled tortilla chips on top. YUMMY YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States