Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did not have masa harina so I just crumbled like a dozen or so corn tortillas in the soup and they dissolved just fine. I also boiled my chicken instead of frying, I figured it works for chicken soup so why not enchilada soup. I just boil the chicken with chicken base, cumin garlic salt, onion powder, pepper and coriander. Sometimes I over boil a bit so it shreds easily, and always let it cool in its broth so its tender and juicy. I think that works out better so I have the fresh chicken broth, for more flavor I get some chicken bones from the meat market. Anyways I loved this combo it was a little spicy but so good, gave a bowl to my sister who usually sneers at my food and she enjoyed it. I will make again. (hope sister does not read reviews on this site, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Fantastic!! The only thing I did different was add 1 can of Rotel petite diced tomatoes w/lime and cilantro and used 8-10 oz of velveeta. I served it with a few crushed tortilla chips and a pinch of shredded cheese on top. If you like Chili's chicken enchilada soup you will not be disappointed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome! Followed recipe exactly...did use the corn tortillas hand crushed with the 2cups of water instead of the masa harina...i 1 tsp Extra of Cumin and the 1 cup water at end of recipe I did chicken broth...AWESOME! Don't be adding to the soup until you taste this first...Then add if needed (which you won't) tortilla strips, tom, and cilantro (all in can) add on top for garnish AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was soooooooo good! I actually threw it all in my crockpot and just let it cook an high for 4 hours, then shredded the chicken towards the end and then replaced. I didn't have red enchilada sauce I hd green, so I used that instead band used all chicken broth with no water but everything else spot on and it was AMAZING! Thank you for such a great soup that my whole family loved! I have already passed the recipe on! We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
OMG This soup is so good and it does taste just like Chili's. I doubled the recipe as I am taking it to a pot luck and of course so I can keep some for myself. I didn't change a thing. Thank you for such an awesome recipe. Thanks again for such great recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
WONDERFUL......I added a teaspon of dried chives for som extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micky Winks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My husband described this as "the kind of food that makes people jealous. I'd hate to have to sit across from someone in the office at lunch and watch them eat it." We eloped in Mexico and had some great local dishes, and we love to eat at authentic Mexican restaurants. This tastes just like the real thing. We topped it with sour cream and cheddar, and paired it with some warm corn bread and homemade spicy guacamole with tortilla chips. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunamadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This soup is GREAT! The only thing I did different is baked my chicken ahead of time, then shredded and added. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! Tastes almost exactly like Chilis soup. We used 1 lb of Velveeta in the soup instead of the cheddar cheese because we had it, but we still garnished with cheddar on top. I'll be making this recipe many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved the flavors of this soup but the consistency was a little bit off. I think next time I will add the cheese when serving because I think that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States