Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used already cooked rotisserie chicken shredded in this recipe in place of the chicken and doubled the entire recipe because I have a large family. It was the best chicken enchilada soup I have ever had including chicken enchilada soup ordered at restaurants! If you like enchiladas, you will love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It is so much easier if you use jarred pre-crushed garlic with parsley,2 pre-cooked Tyson diced chicken in a bag which I cut up more finely and used hot enchilada sauce, so all you have to do is add cumin and salt/pepper to taste. Also, I used 2 cans of Campbells cheddar cheese soup instead of velveeta. I also turned off the heat at the end and put a cup or so of finely shredded colby jack and let it melt smoothly into the soup, which thickened it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic! I added red and green peppers and more of the spices than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mathison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Just made this for dinner and everyone loved it! After reading some of the other reviews I used a 1/2 cup of the masa harina, added a can a corn, a can of black beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes that I mashed up. I didn't have any enchilada sauce so I made my own using 2 cans small cans of tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's and about 2-3 tablespoons chili powder depending on how hot you want it and omitted the chili powder called for in the recipe. I also didn't have any cheddar cheese so I used a Mexican blend cheese from Aldi. Garnished it with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was wonderful... I did make a few changes. I used the entire 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce, 2 cloves of garlic (you can never have too much!), about 2/3 cup of onion. At the end I felt it needed a bit of color and zip. In went a can of RoTel petite diced tomatoes with green chilies,undrained...and it was the magic touch. My husband gave this a DOUBLE thumbs up! He loves the Chili's version, but says this was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've made this several times...sometimes with homemade enchilada sauce, sometimes with jarred. Both are good. It's a simple, basic soup that's really good with a quesadilla or as a lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
If you like Chili's popular soup, I think you will like this recipe. I had very good luck with it. I prefer to bake my chicken wrapped in a little foil and shred it so that is how I prepared it for this recipe. I also used an extra can of chicken broth instead of the cup of water to add to the soup. I had mild enchilada sauce so I added extra chili powder and a little red pepper to give the soup a little more kick. Mesa de Harina is easy to find where I live and I often use it to thicken and add flavor to our favorite chili. I gradually added the Mesa to the 2 cups of water and whisked it until it was smooth. I gradually added the Mesa/Water mixture to the soup and whisked the soup in the pot. I added the entire amount but you could easily omit some of it if the soup becomes too thick. I did not have any problems with the texture being too gritty as mentioned in some of the less favorable reviews. I did not add the shredded cheese, allowing everyone to add it to their individual bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was fairly easy to make. I used frozen chicken and boiled it instead of thawing, then browning. I followed others' advice to slowly add the masa harina. I used a ten ounce can of enchilada sauce, which perhaps made it a bit too spicy for the kids, but those of us who like spicy thought it was great. We put a dollop of sour cream and some tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made for dinner. Enjoyed by all! Very easy - all ingredients bought at Wal-mart, wahoo. Very hearty - perfect fall/winter soup. I served with taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States