Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
After having the Chicken Enchilada Soup at Chili's, I decided to see if I could make it. I saw a review that said this was like Chili's and they were right! Delicious! I read the reviews and did as they suggested. I never used Masa in my life,so used the tip that said to whisk the masa one tablespoon at a time into the water until dissolved (instead of plopping all the masa in at once) so I wouldn't end up with grainy soup. I also used one cup of velveta and one cup of Cheddar. I gave some of the soup to my daughter's family and they raved about it! Great recipe, quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made the soup for dinner with homemade southern cornbread. It was delicious and definitely a keeper. I did, however change a few things. I used light Mexican blend cheese, added some green chilies, put diced tomatoes in the soup and used shredded rotisserie chicken. I also used the homemade enchilada sauce I keep in my freezer, so much better than the canned stuff and it is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This soup is wonderful!! Just like Chilis!! be sure to top with tomatoes, onions, sour cream and cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is an excellent soup! Taste just like the Chicken Enchilada Soup served at Chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Incredible soup. Followed it exactly, with the exception of adding 1/2 can of rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies to add a little more spice. Tastes incredible and is EXACTLY like the soup we usually order at Chili's! We will be making this at least once a week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriLynn Megargel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I really liked this! Not sure it tasted like an enchilada, but it was still tasty. I only used about half of the masa harina (added a little at a time and didn't need more than that), used chicken broth in place of water, and added some black beans and corn. Very tasty! Also, I used green enchilada sauce because I prefer it to red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did not have masa harina so I just crumbled like a dozen or so corn tortillas in the soup and they dissolved just fine. I also boiled my chicken instead of frying, I figured it works for chicken soup so why not enchilada soup. I just boil the chicken with chicken base, cumin garlic salt, onion powder, pepper and coriander. Sometimes I over boil a bit so it shreds easily, and always let it cool in its broth so its tender and juicy. I think that works out better so I have the fresh chicken broth, for more flavor I get some chicken bones from the meat market. Anyways I loved this combo it was a little spicy but so good, gave a bowl to my sister who usually sneers at my food and she enjoyed it. I will make again. (hope sister does not read reviews on this site, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Fantastic!! The only thing I did different was add 1 can of Rotel petite diced tomatoes w/lime and cilantro and used 8-10 oz of velveeta. I served it with a few crushed tortilla chips and a pinch of shredded cheese on top. If you like Chili's chicken enchilada soup you will not be disappointed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome! Followed recipe exactly...did use the corn tortillas hand crushed with the 2cups of water instead of the masa harina...i 1 tsp Extra of Cumin and the 1 cup water at end of recipe I did chicken broth...AWESOME! Don't be adding to the soup until you taste this first...Then add if needed (which you won't) tortilla strips, tom, and cilantro (all in can) add on top for garnish AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was soooooooo good! I actually threw it all in my crockpot and just let it cook an high for 4 hours, then shredded the chicken towards the end and then replaced. I didn't have red enchilada sauce I hd green, so I used that instead band used all chicken broth with no water but everything else spot on and it was AMAZING! Thank you for such a great soup that my whole family loved! I have already passed the recipe on! We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States