Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
If you like Chili's popular soup, I think you will like this recipe. I had very good luck with it. I prefer to bake my chicken wrapped in a little foil and shred it so that is how I prepared it for this recipe. I also used an extra can of chicken broth instead of the cup of water to add to the soup. I had mild enchilada sauce so I added extra chili powder and a little red pepper to give the soup a little more kick. Mesa de Harina is easy to find where I live and I often use it to thicken and add flavor to our favorite chili. I gradually added the Mesa to the 2 cups of water and whisked it until it was smooth. I gradually added the Mesa/Water mixture to the soup and whisked the soup in the pot. I added the entire amount but you could easily omit some of it if the soup becomes too thick. I did not have any problems with the texture being too gritty as mentioned in some of the less favorable reviews. I did not add the shredded cheese, allowing everyone to add it to their individual bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was fairly easy to make. I used frozen chicken and boiled it instead of thawing, then browning. I followed others' advice to slowly add the masa harina. I used a ten ounce can of enchilada sauce, which perhaps made it a bit too spicy for the kids, but those of us who like spicy thought it was great. We put a dollop of sour cream and some tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Made for dinner. Enjoyed by all! Very easy - all ingredients bought at Wal-mart, wahoo. Very hearty - perfect fall/winter soup. I served with taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight and it is delicious! I added corn and pico de gallo...next time I want to add cilantro. Very good! Perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was so easy and so delicious. It was a warm bowl of comfort. I will definitely make it again, though I may make an addition or two just for fun (totally not necessary). We thought green chilies and maybe corn could be good as well. Perfect as is. Thank you! This will be a new staple in our home. p.s. I'm not sure what the fuss was in some reviews with the masa harina. It's almost as easy as adding water to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and when it said makes 8 servings it was more like 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
After having the Chicken Enchilada Soup at Chili's, I decided to see if I could make it. I saw a review that said this was like Chili's and they were right! Delicious! I read the reviews and did as they suggested. I never used Masa in my life,so used the tip that said to whisk the masa one tablespoon at a time into the water until dissolved (instead of plopping all the masa in at once) so I wouldn't end up with grainy soup. I also used one cup of velveta and one cup of Cheddar. I gave some of the soup to my daughter's family and they raved about it! Great recipe, quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made the soup for dinner with homemade southern cornbread. It was delicious and definitely a keeper. I did, however change a few things. I used light Mexican blend cheese, added some green chilies, put diced tomatoes in the soup and used shredded rotisserie chicken. I also used the homemade enchilada sauce I keep in my freezer, so much better than the canned stuff and it is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This soup is wonderful!! Just like Chilis!! be sure to top with tomatoes, onions, sour cream and cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is an excellent soup! Taste just like the Chicken Enchilada Soup served at Chili's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States