Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! I substituted the masa with maseca (it's used to make corn tortillas and can be found in the ethnic foods section) and the water for Mexican beer. I added jalapeños, black beans and corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite soup to date... i do add a bit of cayenne to spice it up but other than that the recipe doesnt need any kind of tweaking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I was looking for an alternative to taco soup when I came accross this one. I was worried about finding Masa Harina at our market as I live in a small town but was able to find it on the baking aisle near the flour. The soup turned out GREAT. My family of 8 did not have a single complaint. I garnished it with cilantro, chopped tomate, an avacado, sour cream and crushed tortilla chips. Added this one to "my recipe box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I absolutely LOVE Chilis' Chicken Enchilada Soup and I was looking for a replica recipe. This one came close, but not quite. Don't get me wrong, it was still great, but it was missing that bold kick Chilis' soup has. I followed this recipe, but substituted the 1 cup water with more chicken broth, used Kraft Three Cheese Blend, and I used Maseca, because my grocer didn't carry masa harina (but I think Maseca is the same thing?). The Maseca added a great corn flavor to the soup. However, I think the three cheese blend is what threw it off. I tried to get the secret from an insider at Chilis, but of course, it turns out it's packaged and they just reheat it for you. I'm also looking for that deep orange color, which according to other recipes I've looked at, just might come from the cheese you're using. Next time I'll be trying it with Velveeta instead of the cheese to see if that gives me what I'm looking for. Definitely look forward to making this again and tweaking it until it comes out just right =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This basic recipe is good but bland. I increased all the seasonings and onion and garlic and added chicken bouillon (Better Than Bouilion). Also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and chili powder prior to browning. Served with chopped tomatoes, avocado and tortilla strips. Very good after adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We just made this tonight, and it was lovely. I think this is one of those soups that is easy to toss together, but gets most of it's flavor from the garnishes you choose. I did substitute about 1.25 lbs of frozen pork for the chicken (I was looking for a recipe to help use up some of the boneless pork I snagged for 60 cents a lb!), and tossed everything into my crock pot instead. After about 6 hours I shredded the pork and put it back in for another 20 minutes on high, the same time I added the masa. I only used half a cup of masa, but I mixed it into my cup of water very slowly- no grittiness. We used the cheese as a garnish instead of adding it to the pot. We topped with cheese, crema mexicana, and crushed tortilla chips. When the crema got stirred into the soup it came out very velvety. I added corn, black beans and some green chilies to my bowl because I am the only one who likes them in my family. All together, it's any easy base soup that you can change the flavor of by changing your toppings. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband had this soup at a restaurant once and just kept asking me to make it. I found this recipe and made it as a surprise and he said I nailed it! He was in heaven! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is even better than Chili's. It has become my Christmas day soup. I replace the water with more broth, and heat the cups of broth before adding it slowly to the masa, stirring continually to avoid clumping. I use one can of the 15 oz. red sauce. Otherwise I follow as is. So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as posted. I thought it was rather bland and would not make it again unless I was trying it with some of the add-ins others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States