Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This basic recipe is good but bland. I increased all the seasonings and onion and garlic and added chicken bouillon (Better Than Bouilion). Also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and chili powder prior to browning. Served with chopped tomatoes, avocado and tortilla strips. Very good after adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We just made this tonight, and it was lovely. I think this is one of those soups that is easy to toss together, but gets most of it's flavor from the garnishes you choose. I did substitute about 1.25 lbs of frozen pork for the chicken (I was looking for a recipe to help use up some of the boneless pork I snagged for 60 cents a lb!), and tossed everything into my crock pot instead. After about 6 hours I shredded the pork and put it back in for another 20 minutes on high, the same time I added the masa. I only used half a cup of masa, but I mixed it into my cup of water very slowly- no grittiness. We used the cheese as a garnish instead of adding it to the pot. We topped with cheese, crema mexicana, and crushed tortilla chips. When the crema got stirred into the soup it came out very velvety. I added corn, black beans and some green chilies to my bowl because I am the only one who likes them in my family. All together, it's any easy base soup that you can change the flavor of by changing your toppings. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My husband had this soup at a restaurant once and just kept asking me to make it. I found this recipe and made it as a surprise and he said I nailed it! He was in heaven! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is even better than Chili's. It has become my Christmas day soup. I replace the water with more broth, and heat the cups of broth before adding it slowly to the masa, stirring continually to avoid clumping. I use one can of the 15 oz. red sauce. Otherwise I follow as is. So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as posted. I thought it was rather bland and would not make it again unless I was trying it with some of the add-ins others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Loved this! Better the next day even. Use velveeta shreds which melted great. Also couldn't find masa harina so bought a corn muffin mix and used 1/2 cup of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Great but not for extra do a 1x serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe...easy to make, used extra chicken just to give it more. Everyone love the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I put my chicken breast in the slow cooker and then put everything else in. I made my own enchilada sauce. I just 2 corn tortillas as the masa. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States