Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was a very easy and delicious soup. I used the medium enchilada sauce and it had just enough spice- not too much. Very good on a dreary day! And, it does taste very similar to the one at Chili's!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely fantastic recipe!!! And additional thanks to the reviewer who suggested using corn tortillas instead of masa harina. I've used six tortillas and I've used 10. It's all good. The right enchilada sauce makes all the difference; for authenticity I recommend Las Palmas medium or hot red sauce, if you can find it. I grew up with this stuff in Southern California, and although harder to find back east it's still possible. The enchilada sauce-to-water ratio is spot-on as long as you select a quality sauce. Don't be afraid to use more garlic, 4 or 5 cloves is about right with half of a large onion. I made this recipe a few different times, and I discovered that you do not need to add cheese during the cooking process. It's really not necessary for thickness (the corn tortillas are), and the cheese just globs at the bottom and sticks to the pot. Just add mild cheddar cheese with the rest of your garnish, fresher is better, and you require less cheese (healthier too). A squeeze of lime in the bowl, some fresh cilantro, some thinly sliced jalapeno, etc., and you're in business!!! I've seen reviews where others keep adding more and more stuff (even beans and Velveeta), and it seems they are trying to create a thicker chile or a dip rather than soup. The goal should be an authentic, light, simple enchilada soup of top fresh quality, so use the right sauce to begin with, keep it light, and enjoy life without clogging your arteries. Avocado salad makes a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Good stuff! I was unable to find masa harina, but took the advice of others and used 7 small corn tortillas torn into small pieces. I was a little worried that I'd have soggy chunks in the soup, but by the time the soup simmered the tortillas had totally disolved. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe! I replaced the masa harina with 5-6 corn tortillas, sliced. I added a jalapeno and a can each of black beans and corn. Definitely will make this one numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used green enchilada sauce for this recipe. It was just as delicious as chicken enchilada soup that I had in a restaurant. SOOOOOO easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Yummy! I rarely follow a recipe to the T, but for the most part I did on this one. Once I started tasting I added some salt and chili powder for a little extra zing. This really does taste like the Chili's soup, which is a favorite. I was going to go get it car-side tonight and found this first, yay! I did put tomatoes and green onions in as well as some cilantro (all as garnishes) with crumbled tortilla chips on top. YUMMY YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This soup was pretty yummy, although I did not make exactly as directed. My changes included: cooking the chicken in about 3 tsp of taco seasoning, adding about 3/4 cup frozen sweet corn, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of black beans, and putting 1/2 can of green enchilada sauce and 1/2 can of red enchilada sauce. Adding the addtional canned ingredients did make it a little salty, though so next time I would probably use reduced sodium chicken broth or add more water and less broth/bullion. I also followed advice of others and used bite sized corn tortilla pieces in place of the masa harina. But I would definitely make again...maybe add some fresh avacado or green onion garnish! Great on a cool winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this soup! This would also be a great enchilada sauce/gravy. I would just make this same recipe without the chicken and put the chicken and cheese in the enchilada. Yummy! I have already shared it with friends and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlenmcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
You can tear up corn tortillas instead of using masa harina, they will dissolve and ticken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very good.. I added a can of drained corn and drained Rotel tomatoes with chilis... next time I will try doubling the cumin as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States