Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I cut the masa harina in half and added a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes and a sliced yellow pepper. YUMMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara N. Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I love the chicken enchilada soup at Chili's and I have to agree that this was pretty close to theirs. I modified the recipe slightly and it was still delicious. First, I didn't have canned enchilada sauce, so I made my own. I am Mexican and I learned to make my grandmother's enchilada sauce recipe. I boiled two dry California chiles in enough water to cover them. I added salt and powdered garlic to the chiles and brought them to a boil. I then removed the stems and put the chiles and water in the blender and puréed them. I strained the chiles to remove any leftover seeds and skin. I put the hot liquid back into the blender and added the masa harina. I blended the mixture and that resulted in a base that was not at all gritty. It was perfectly smooth. The only thing I won't repeat is that I didn't have cheddar cheese on hand. So, I substituted with mozzarella. That didn't add the flavor balance needed for this recipe. I will definitely make this again and make sure to have a sharper cheese on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this tonight. Did the corn tortillas as suggested by another reviewer and added a few vegetables (black beans, tomatoes and fiesta corn) to make it heartier for my kids. MAN this was good!! Scaled back the cheese a bit but it was still phenomenal. I think it was better than chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Yum! This had a great flavor. I will make this again, but next time will use the masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
BEST SOUP EVER !!! I JUST ate Chili's Enchilada soup yesterday and then came home to make this today. EXACT REPLICA !!! yahoo!!!! But - I did use corn tortillas instead of the Masa Harina. The corn tortillas melt right down to nothing and thicken up the pot while adding their taste to the soup. I'm addicted ! Added some sour cream and shredded cheese and a little tortilla chips and I'm hooked ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I found this recipe today, and made it tonight. On it's own, it was good, but somewhat boring if you really love the Mexican favors.. After I made it, according to the recipe, I added some ingredients, and took other reviewers advice. I did use corn tortillas to thicken it, and add that special flavor. Black beans, pinto beans, and some whole kernel corn added to the body of the soup. I had no canned enchilada sauce, so used 1 1/2 pkg.'s of dry mix. I added some sliced jalapeños and cilantro. Hot sauce, fresh cilantro, fresh limes, corn chips, and cheddar cheese, were served on the side. We're having this again tomorrow, and I'll add sliced avacados as another side. I've never made enchilada soup before, and this was a great recipe to start with. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! I substituted the masa with maseca (it's used to make corn tortillas and can be found in the ethnic foods section) and the water for Mexican beer. I added jalapeños, black beans and corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
My favorite soup to date... i do add a bit of cayenne to spice it up but other than that the recipe doesnt need any kind of tweaking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I was looking for an alternative to taco soup when I came accross this one. I was worried about finding Masa Harina at our market as I live in a small town but was able to find it on the baking aisle near the flour. The soup turned out GREAT. My family of 8 did not have a single complaint. I garnished it with cilantro, chopped tomate, an avacado, sour cream and crushed tortilla chips. Added this one to "my recipe box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I absolutely LOVE Chilis' Chicken Enchilada Soup and I was looking for a replica recipe. This one came close, but not quite. Don't get me wrong, it was still great, but it was missing that bold kick Chilis' soup has. I followed this recipe, but substituted the 1 cup water with more chicken broth, used Kraft Three Cheese Blend, and I used Maseca, because my grocer didn't carry masa harina (but I think Maseca is the same thing?). The Maseca added a great corn flavor to the soup. However, I think the three cheese blend is what threw it off. I tried to get the secret from an insider at Chilis, but of course, it turns out it's packaged and they just reheat it for you. I'm also looking for that deep orange color, which according to other recipes I've looked at, just might come from the cheese you're using. Next time I'll be trying it with Velveeta instead of the cheese to see if that gives me what I'm looking for. Definitely look forward to making this again and tweaking it until it comes out just right =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States