Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Good stuff! I was unable to find masa harina, but took the advice of others and used 7 small corn tortillas torn into small pieces. I was a little worried that I'd have soggy chunks in the soup, but by the time the soup simmered the tortillas had totally disolved. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe! I replaced the masa harina with 5-6 corn tortillas, sliced. I added a jalapeno and a can each of black beans and corn. Definitely will make this one numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used green enchilada sauce for this recipe. It was just as delicious as chicken enchilada soup that I had in a restaurant. SOOOOOO easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Yummy! I rarely follow a recipe to the T, but for the most part I did on this one. Once I started tasting I added some salt and chili powder for a little extra zing. This really does taste like the Chili's soup, which is a favorite. I was going to go get it car-side tonight and found this first, yay! I did put tomatoes and green onions in as well as some cilantro (all as garnishes) with crumbled tortilla chips on top. YUMMY YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This soup was pretty yummy, although I did not make exactly as directed. My changes included: cooking the chicken in about 3 tsp of taco seasoning, adding about 3/4 cup frozen sweet corn, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of black beans, and putting 1/2 can of green enchilada sauce and 1/2 can of red enchilada sauce. Adding the addtional canned ingredients did make it a little salty, though so next time I would probably use reduced sodium chicken broth or add more water and less broth/bullion. I also followed advice of others and used bite sized corn tortilla pieces in place of the masa harina. But I would definitely make again...maybe add some fresh avacado or green onion garnish! Great on a cool winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this soup! This would also be a great enchilada sauce/gravy. I would just make this same recipe without the chicken and put the chicken and cheese in the enchilada. Yummy! I have already shared it with friends and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlenmcginnis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
You can tear up corn tortillas instead of using masa harina, they will dissolve and ticken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very good.. I added a can of drained corn and drained Rotel tomatoes with chilis... next time I will try doubling the cumin as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was delicious! Tasted just like the soup made at the deli near where I work. I was able to find the masa and was really glad I did, think it "fleshed" the soup out really well and since I whisked it well with water prior to adding I didn't notice a grittiness some people seem to have. It thickened beautifully and the texture it created was what I would expect from a soup like this. Only thing I'll change next time is to use a rotisserie chicken to save even more time. And maybe add some tomotoes and/or black beans. It'll be fun to experiment with, but this recipe is delish as-is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I should say for this being the fist Enchilada soup i have made using masa it was really REALLY good, i loved the flavor, however, the recipe as it is is kind of bland - great base for a good soup with possibilities, next time i think i will add some veggies or something - very good but missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States