Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup was ok, not great. The broth wasn't as flavorful as I was hoping and it really just seemed to be broth & chicken. Kind of plain and not much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Oh my, was this delicious. Like another reviewer, I served this to my meat-and-potato-loving husband and teen son, who raved about how wonderful it was. I had to substitute thighs for the breasts, and I was worried about being out of cumin. But it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
So good! I omitted the salt and used velveeta instead of cheddar, then topped with cheddar, sour cream, avocado, and crushed tortilla chips to serve. Also used all lower sodium chickem broth instead of water. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
One of my favorite soups and very easy to make!! This tastes very similiar to the restaurant version and has a lot of flavor and taste to it. I like thicker creampy soups and something with a little kick to it, and this is perfect!! I make it time and time again and always a big hit with everyone!! I highly recommend this soup...yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was a very good soup as written. I did make a few changes the second time I made it, which I thought made it even better. I added about a cup of finely chopped green pepper and about a cup or a little more of whole kernel corn. Instead of the masa harina, I bought a package of small corn tortillas. I tore up about ten of them into very tiny pieces, simmered them in a pan with just enough water to cover them. Once softened, I stirred them and they dissolved. I then put the mix into the soup and it was perfect. I also used more chicken stock and less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawk Run, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Five stars for sure. My family raved!! I used velveeta cheese almost a pound of it and Mccormick powdered packed of enchilada sauce.(which i made according to the package). I used chicken base instead of broth and added a bit more.YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Bergin
Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Our new favorite soup! I am in Ireland and could not get masa harina, so I crushed (pulverised) tortilla chips in it's place and left out the additional salt :) When the onions and garlic were browned I mixed the tortilla chip crumbs in to the pan, then I added the broth and remaining ingredients. Family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
awesome.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Made it using all ingredients listed. Added 16 oz of velveeta, can of corn, can of green chiles, a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, a dash of frank's red hot. I used the masa but I don't think it was really necessary. Not exactly low on the calories, but one bowl really filling and it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the same recipe as chicken enchilada soup II and the top secret recipe on the internet for "Chili's chicken enchilada soup." The only difference is this has cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta all other ingredients exactly the same and in the same portion. If you love Chili's soup you will like this. Although, I suggest if you want something more similar to use the Velveeta in the copycat recipe. Although, myself I wouldn't mind trying it next time with cheddar cheese as we added it to the tops of our bowls anyway along with tomatoes, green onions, and tortilla strips like the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States