Chicken Enchilada Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My soup got cold when I had to get on my knees to praise the heavens for KMHIX!! Perfect enchilada soup!! Perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Substituted extra fine ground corn meal for the masa harina and doubled the recipe. It was great on our first cold day this fall...and definitely made it into rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
love this recipe! We are vegetarians for medical reasons, im always looking for a hearty feeling substitute. Due to allergies, I made some adjustments. Instead of chicken broth I used water mixed with Streits soup base. I added green chiles, 1/2 cup extra enchilada sauce (las palmas), 1 cup cheddar cheese, 1 cup fiesta blend cheese. White corn and black beans helped with omitting the shredded chicken. Instead of water, I used veggie stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great winter comfort food! My family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great as written but too spicey for my hubby. In place of masa I used 4 corn tortias soaked in hot water then whirled in blender. Added a can of cream of chicken soup, also a can of cheese soup (instead of grated cheese) plus added black beans. It simmered up into a wonderful hearty enchilada soup that my husband really enjoyed (myself included!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
we followed the recipe as it is, including the masa harina even though lots of people replaced it.... it was a very tasty soup, but very thick. Great flavor and we will for sure make this again next fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I used already cooked rotisserie chicken shredded in this recipe in place of the chicken and doubled the entire recipe because I have a large family. It was the best chicken enchilada soup I have ever had including chicken enchilada soup ordered at restaurants! If you like enchiladas, you will love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It is so much easier if you use jarred pre-crushed garlic with parsley,2 pre-cooked Tyson diced chicken in a bag which I cut up more finely and used hot enchilada sauce, so all you have to do is add cumin and salt/pepper to taste. Also, I used 2 cans of Campbells cheddar cheese soup instead of velveeta. I also turned off the heat at the end and put a cup or so of finely shredded colby jack and let it melt smoothly into the soup, which thickened it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic! I added red and green peppers and more of the spices than the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Just made this for dinner and everyone loved it! After reading some of the other reviews I used a 1/2 cup of the masa harina, added a can a corn, a can of black beans, and a can of stewed tomatoes that I mashed up. I didn't have any enchilada sauce so I made my own using 2 cans small cans of tomato sauce, a small can of diced green chili's and about 2-3 tablespoons chili powder depending on how hot you want it and omitted the chili powder called for in the recipe. I also didn't have any cheddar cheese so I used a Mexican blend cheese from Aldi. Garnished it with some more cheese and a dollop of sour cream and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States