Chicken Enchilada Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I started recipe as written (except for using Quorn faux Chicken and vegetarian chicken broth). I put it in my crock pot on low overnight. When I tried it in the morning, it was super bland! I tripled the spices, added 3/4 jar of black bean salsa, extra faux chicken broth and doubled the enchilida sauce. Much better! I decided to add rice and corn in addition to the cheese. Topped with tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream. Delicious!! Definitely not a soup. More of a stew. Very thick and filling. I didn't have any issues mixing in the Masa. I like the texture it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I didn't add the processed cheese but rather topped each bowl of soup with shredded cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I modify it a bit. I add green chili's and crushed tomatoes. In stead of masa harnia I use corn bread. I also spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I absolutely love Chili's chicken enchilada soup, and was so excited to try this! It did not disappoint! Oh my gosh, this soup is excellent!!! I live in a small city where I couldn't find masa, so I tore up corn tortillas as suggested, and I don't see how it could have tasted any better! I will definitely be making this one again, and again, and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was an instant hit. I didn't use the processed cheese but added Colby jack as we served it. This is definitely a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Sensational!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot even though I had to go out and buy masa harina just for it. It froze well for me and reheats in the microwave at work, but after I made it, I realized that the enchilada sauce I made from another allrecipes recipe made it unsuitable for me friend with celiac disease (gluten intolerance) due to minimal flour used as thickening in the sauce. Next time, I think I should be able to make the enchilada sauce gluten free too by using a little more of the masa harina and, if that works, I would give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Overall great recipe. When it asks to add the remaining water, I used chicken broth. I added rotel, black beans, green chilis, more cumin, more garlic. I topped with sour cream and tortilla chips. Next time I might use real monterrey jack, as opposed to processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've made this now a few times, and it delicious every time! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This tastes EXACTLY like that popular casual dining places Enchilada Soup! The only difference I experienced was simply a slightly more textured soup which, may have been due to the fact that I used a heavy cast iron enameled pot. It was still absolutely delicious and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States