Chicken Enchilada Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
After reading other reviews, I came up with my own revisions to this recipe that make it even more delicious. I marinade the chicken overnight in a package of fajita mix with lime juice. For remaining ingredients, I use the 8 oz. of cream cheese as the original states, 4 oz. mayonnaise, 4 oz. sour cream, the cheddar, chiles and jalapeno as recipe states, add a can of rinsed black beans, 3 sliced green onions, 1 small clove of minced garlic and salt and pepper to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I am SO glad I didn't look at any of the reviews until after I had this mixed up. Given that the majority of the reviewers substituted sour cream for the mayonnaise called for I might have done the same. It makes me wonder if so many did that simply because, well, everybody else did. Then there were others who said this was greasy or bland and made significant changes to the recipe. I was nervous that since I made this just as the recipe directed that it was going to be a mayonnaisy, greasy, tasteless flop. I needn't have worried, because let me tell you, this stuff is good! No, I mean this stuff is GOOD. It is creamy, and chickeny and not greasy and not mayonnaisy (in fact, had I not put it in there myself I wouldn't have even known there was any). This is so nicely flavored, and certainly doesn't require any messing with to make it better. Once out of the oven (believe it or not I just heated it in the microwave for a few minutes and it turned out perfectly!) I plopped some sour cream on the top and sprinkled it with chopped green onion. This is a dip I'd be proud to take or serve anywhere or anytime I have a need to make or bring something awesome good. Perfect, flawless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Hi, this is Kelley that posted this recipe. I posted a similar comment before, but just wanted to put it in again. I've noticed that a lot of people have noted that the taste of mayo is a little strong, and some have substituted 8 oz mayo and 8 oz sour cream instead, thinking the recipes calls for 16 oz of mayo. The recipe only calls for 8 oz of mayo total. If you do want to include some sour cream, I would suggest 4 oz mayo and 4 oz sour cream. Thanks for all the great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
As per other reviewers, I used 4oz. mayo & 4oz sour cream. I also used 8oz of cubed, hot Mexican Velveeta, green onion, & taco sauce to taste, instead of the shredded cheddar, jalopeno pepper & green chili peppers. Easier & creamier. I guess, I pretty much changed the whole recipe, but whatever, it turned out great. I have had so many compliments & requests for copies of this recipe. Served it with Frito Scoops. You can make it even easier by getting a couple cans of white-meat chicken. Only needed to bake it about 30 minutes. Try it; believe me, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is my favorite party dip and everyone else loves it too! I always use canned chicken breast to save some time. It is just as good as fresh chicken in this recipe and it is easier to break up. I also add a few dashes of chili powder and omit the jalapeños because I'm not a fan. When I mix the ingedients together, I use a hand mixer. It breaks up the big chunks of chicken and really helps blend everything together nicely. Excellent party dish! Serve with Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Ymmmm! Have made this numerous times for parties. I use 1 can of Hot Rotel instead of chilis as it adds color and spice. Use 1 cup of mayonaise and 1 cup of sour cream to cut the mayo. amount and add garlic powder. EVERYONE wants this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I first made the recipe following the other reviewers advice about using 1/2 mayonaise and 1/2 sour cream. The consistancy was too heavy and it tasted like it was missing something. I made it a second time using 1 can cream of chicken soup and 8 oz carton of sour cream in place of the mayonaise AND the cream cheese. I also added a small-medium, diced onion; 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 1 tsp ground coriander. Now I have people begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Excellent! Instead of serving hot, I took the cold dip and spread on tortillas and rolled them up and cut into slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I thought this recipe is fantastic. Honestly, the appearance may make some folks apprehensive but once they have a bit...mmmm good. To add additional color, I have also added a small jar of drained, diced pimentos. I have also substituted miracle whip for mayo when I am out of it. Either way, the taste is wonderful. I'd bring it to any party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Great dip with a few changes. Since its called Chicken enchilada, I added 3T of enchilada sauce to half the dip and left out the chili peppers. The other half of the dip (15 servings) I added a half envelope of Taco seasoning and left out the chili peppers. The extra seasoning seemed to enhance the original recipe. Also I used 4oz mayo and 4oz sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States