Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This recipe was sooo delicious!! I'll admit, I was a little leery at first when mixing the salsa, sour cream, soup and beans together...it was an unappetizing pink color, but once out of the oven, it was totally fine and smelled heavenly! I used cream of celery soup and black beans on the advice of other reviews. I also nixed the chopped onion because I was too lazy to cut it up. My husband loved this dish, and so do I! We will be making this often! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy & tasty recipe. I used a can of Rotel instead of the salsa as that is what I had on hand. Definately a keeper: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this last night, and my husband said it was the best thing he's ever eaten, including food from fancy restaurants. He said he's never been more satisfied with a meal (and he is a picky eater). He told me that if I kept up this quality of cooking he wouldn't have to fire me. XD I did make some changes, but I am reviewing this recipe because I owe all of the credit to the base recipe: I nixed the sour cream, used black beans instead of chili beans, used white corn chips instead of flour tortillas, and cooked the chicken in a jalapeno taco seasoning. I used a Mexican cheese mix in half the quantity the recipe called for, and I added some fresh spinach in the middle for color. I served it with Goya refried red beans and fresh, homemade lime soda (1 bottle club soda, juice of 1.5 limes, 1/2 cup sugar). 'Twas nommy and healthy, minus the sodium content which was definitely through the roof. I am heavy-handed and was only able to divide the ingredients into two layers, but it didn't change the taste at all, I'm sure. (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Followed this recipe exactly and we were so disappointed! Has some kind of sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Good to go recipe..I have made this a few times. I use the corn tortillas/chips. Keeps things from getting too soggy. I also added green chiles to the sour cream mix (cut back a bit on the sour cream) because I love them! Make sure to spice your chicken with something to your taste. I have used chili power or garlic or taco seasoning. I topped it with diced tomato & green onion when just before serving. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have been fixing this dish since 2006 and realized I had never written a review on it...so here goes! This IS my family's all time fave. We have exchange students from all over the world and this is also the dinner they request time & time again. After making it so many times, I have come up with some worthwhile shortcuts & tips. 1) I use chicken tenders that I cook in the microwave ahead of time and cool completely (I got tired of burning my fingers while shredding hot chicken, but don't over cook it!) 2) add the chicken to the entire soup mixture and mix...I didn't see any benefit in not doing this and it skips a step while assembling the layers 3) add a can of chopped green chilies (yum) and/or chopped jalapenos if you like a little heat 4) try using black beans instead of chili beans 5) I always have to cook this about 15 minutes more than the recipe calls for 6) let it stand before serving, although in my house that never happens. It is runny if you don't let it rest, but my family doesn't care...they can't wait to eat it! This is simply thee best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livingdahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was pretty good, forgot to buy beans so I didn't have them in the casserole, could definitley use some though. I might try other enchilada casserole recipes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drpolz
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Whole family loved it.Even my picky kids tour it up.My wife is eating it for breakfast right now.Thanks for a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Great recipe! And a good addition to throw into the rotation. Made it just as written and it was very tasty. Think it would be 5-star worthy with just a few changes as mentioned in previous reviews, but I'm not reviewing reviews here. Loved it! Will spice up the chicken next time with some cumin, garlic powder and s&p, use a little less sour cream, definitely black beans and maybe some more tortillas to give a little more balance to the heavy load of chicken and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I loved tthis recipe!! It was soo good! I've made it 3 times already! All my guests LOVED it! I only used about 8 oz of sour cream the second time and I didn't really notice much of a change. I also added corn and olives! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States