Chicken Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
As written, this is rather soupy. I made this using homemade pinto beans instead of canned, about 3/4 cup each of the sour cream and salsa, and the one can of soup. Still it was a little on the soupy side. I used corn tortillas as they provide an excellent authentic Mexican flavor over the flour tortillas. I layered the tortillas on the bottom of the pan, added the shredded chicken, spooned the mixture of the rest of the ingredients over the top of the chicken and spread evenly with the back of the spoon, topped with the shredded cheese (I used less than the recipe called for), then I repeated the layers and baked as directed. This is very mild as written and kids will like it if they enjoy this type of flavor. I served a spicy queso on the side for those of us that wanted to kick up the flavor. If I make this again, I'll cut back on the ingredients even more so it's not runny and I'll add some diced green chilies or use a hot salsa for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Made this casserole just like the recipe with the exception of the beans. I substituted the chili beans with black beans and I used corn tortillas instead of flour ones - like other reviewers suggested. We dished it out onto tortilla chips and added more sour cream and salsa to the top. It was delicious! Everyone loved it and I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindi from Iowa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is one messy dish but after tasting it- you won't mind a bit! I added some enchilada sauce to the layers, sure added a nice little flavor. I was able to find thicker flour tortillas and they never got soggy, even when reheated. Very-very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe is very good! My husband doesn't like chili beans, so I omitted them but added a can of chopped green chilies. We prefer corn tortillas in place of flour ones, it added more flavor! I make this casserole all of the time! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yum, this was fantastic. I also used black beans and scaled the recipe down a bit, but it was wonderful. I did use flour tortillas and they seemed to melt into the mixture. I may just skip them next time and serve it wrapped in warmed tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy J Sellers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I gave the recipe 4 stars because I agree that the recipe was a little too soupy. However, the leftovers did stiffen up a bit and stayed that way once re-heated. I also used black beans, and added a can of corn. I like a kick of spice so I added some hot sauce on top of my serving. The flavor was very good, so I will probably make this recipe again and just cut back on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was very good and easy to make. Because I was cooking this for just my husband and me, I knew there would be leftovers (and actually I think I preferred this meal when reheating it!). Because I read some reviews about the flour tortilla getting soggy (especially with left over portions), I omitted the tortillas while baking, and then we took the end result and wrapped them in tortillas for dinner. This is also very good with corn tortilla chips instead of the flour tortillas. My husband preferred the flour tortillas while I preferred the corn chips. By omitting the flour tortillas in the casserole itself, he can eat his portion with what he likes and I can eat mine with the corn chips! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Really good, I used a 14oz can of kidney beans to make it a little thicker and cooked the chicken with taco seasoning. Next time I wil crumble some tortilla chip on top before baking for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I added enchilada sauce and only used 1/2 bottle of salsa and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I mix all the ingreients together except for the tortillas and cheese. Then I add half the cheese to the mix. Oh, I then I add fat free refried beans to the mixture too. Then I make 3 layers. tortilla strips, chcken mixture, cheese, tortilla strips, chicken mixture and the rest of the cheese. EXCELLENT. But too sloppy to serve company. That's okay. More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States